We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice gem”

Little Jerusalem - The Ticho House
Price range: $30 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really nice gem”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This place is right of Jaffa street in a historic building that is part of the Israel Museum. We had a very nice dinner (milk) for four - friendly service, nice menu. The fish was excellent. They have a beautiful courtyard and you can sit outside (we didn't because there was a wedding). We especially enjoyed the white fish & stir fry. What a gem!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobField
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    73
    17
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nepean
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“No service”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The Ticoh House was recommended so we hiked up the road. The staff was not as welcoming as everywhere else we have been but we were seated. Then we were totally ignored. We left without having ordered

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bookie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“everything they say and more...”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We visited the Ticho House during our stay in Israel, and were very glad we did! The property is a charming house hidden away from the noise and hustle of the city. Since it was a bit chilly outside we chose to eat indoors but the outdoor dining was beautifully lit and would be a lovely place to eat weather permitting. As mentioned already, the onion soup in a bowl was absolutely delicious. We ordered gnocci, salmon in pastry, lasagna, and fettucine, and each dish was outstanding. The service was perfect, friendly and fast. Prices were very reasonable, especially for such high-quality food. We would definitely go to this restaurant again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mkcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to dine. Quiet and peaceful.”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have dined at this restaurant several times and have enjoyed it each time. After the hustle and bustle of a busy day and the noise of the streets and the markets, it is nice to relax in their courtyard which has flowers and shrubs galore. The food is always excellent. I especially enjoyed the pumpkin pasta.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank cameronSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
146 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Terrific food, especially the only soup!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Set off the beaten track, Ticho House is a terrific venue to celebrate a special occasion. We celebrated our 30 wedding anniversary with dinner at this lovely old historic estate. The atmosphere was quite pleasant; the service excellent; and the clientele extremely ecclectic -- from the very religious to the very secular. Food was very good, and presentation was lovely. Order the onion soup in a bread bowl -- absolutely amazing! Ask for directions, and definitely try this unique and accomplished restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeasonTraveler2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Jerusalem - The Ticho House also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing