We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“olive maybe but not the fish”
Review of olive and fish

olive and fish
Ranked #28 of 743 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Given the plethora of wonderful Jerusalem restaurants, why would someone ever subject themselves, to amateur and poor quality appetizers and dry tasteless fish. I wish that I could say something redeeming about this restaurant, but it is the second time I have been there and given my experience on both occasions, I could never justify ever choosing this restaurant over the multitude of other good to great restaurants in this City. A terrible restaurant for showcasing Jerusalem.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafi N, Owner at olive and fish, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

We appreciate the patronage and feedback of every one of our customers and strive to provide the best possible dining experience. Most of our customers report, both on their way out the door and on TripAdvisor, that dinner at Olive and Fish was one of their best meals during their visit to Israel. We were shocked by your review, are VERY sorry that you did not have a successful experience with us, and wish that you had made your dissatisfaction known ON THE SPOT. It is indeed quite puzzling to us that you report that you had not one poor experience with us but two, without ever notifying your waitstaff or our manager. All our managers and wait staff are very personable and well trained, and our kitchen also aims to please. Had they been informed of your disappointment with your order, they certainly would have acted immediately and done their best to fully correct the situation. We believe that our customers deserve high quality food and good service, but we can only correct the problems you seem to have experienced if we know about them at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 360 of 499 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

This restaurant specializes in fish but there is also a meat menu., which is very good but basic
The fish menu is varied and special
Small intimate restaurant--10 tables inside--advisable to book a table
Quiet atmosphere--attentive service
Great anti-pasti for starters
Daily specials or menu.
If you are looking for a conveniently located fish restaurant this is one of the greats.
Evenings--a meal for two is approx. nis 350
fish--grilled or baked and also salads.
Located opposite the Inbal hotel

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lionel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Enjoyed a group dinner for 26 here last week. Nice private room in the front/street side. Set menu included a wide variety of mezzes, Yarden wines, fresh lemonade, and entrees were St. Peter's fish, kabobs, chicken with dates and figs, and beef ravioli. Dessert was strawberries and some pastries. Absolutely delicious. Wait staff were very helpful and personable. Would definitely go back!

Thank Saranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Every single salad put in front of us was so very good!!! We had 2 awesome servers that I were so nice & friendly to a bunch of Americans with only 4 people out of 25 speaking any Hebrew. The steak & potatoes come with this amazing spicy mustard that was much needed to clear out sinuses at our visit. The one chicken dish was made with honey & ginger but was not as sweet as it sounds & was very delicious. Ironically I did not try any fish but the salmon looked delicious & even though we were a large group everyone seemed very happy with all the courses. The servers are very knowledgeable about the ingredients of all foods since there were some people in our group with different food allergies. Good time, just a little warm in there so where layers so you can take them off if need be. Also the bathroom is upstairs & I did not see any elevator so if there is a problem going upstairs just know this before you visit but try not to let it stop you from going - the food is very good. Worth a night out!

Thank DWhite1157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We've been going to Olive & Fish as a family for years, any time we felt like spoiling ourselves with a nice evening out. (The chicken liver with pears is a particular favourite.) Last month, however, I organized an anniversary dinner there for over 80 people. Despite that number, the restaurant maintained its high standards of food, service and friendliness, as well as coming toward us with the pricing and doing everything to meet our special requests.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wendy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed olive and fish also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to olive and fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing