We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Best way to see Jerusalem!

This is the best way to see Jerusalem! Get up early, beat the crowds and learn a ton about this... read more

Reviewed February 14, 2020
Scott P
,
Chicago, Illinois
via mobile
"Don't miss this amazing experience in Jerusalem"

We thoroughly enjoyed this unique opportunity to see Jerusalem from an insider's perspective with... read more

Reviewed August 28, 2019
DJKPA
Read all 25 reviews
  
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveler rating
25
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
25
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cycle tour amazing experience his knowledge mount olives insight politics sites
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 25 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2016

The feeling of riding before dawn through the empty streets is great. We started by cycling through the market area called Mahane Yehuda before it woke up and saw all the great art graffiti on the shop and store shutters (done with the permission of the store owners I discovered). This is really cool because you only see it when the market is "sleeping" . Then we followed the Jerusalem tram lines into the Old city of Jerusalem via one of its many gates. Phil made sure we knew the "rules of the road" whilst Matt was always riding at the back so no one could get lost - good if you do not know your way around. The tour lives up to its name "Sunrise" as, with perfect timing Matt and Phil got us to an amazing roof top view at Mount Zion just as the sun came up. No less perfect was the freshly brewed cup of coffee they gave me (tea as well). We carried on after this by cycling down via the Temple area and then with the Mount of Olives (superb view) to the east we cycled around the walls to get back home.It took three hours which zoomed by really quickly as Phil and Matt kept us entertained with tales of Jerusalem and pointing out the things you do not see by yourself.
If I have two words to say......do it
Great company, new friends and fantastic Tour guides who know their stuff. What else do you need to start the day?
Allan Younger

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Allan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil G, Owner at Jerusalem Sunrise Cycling, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2017

"If have two words to say......do it"
We are so quoting you on that!
Thank you for your review!

Happy riding!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2016

It's not easy to get up before dawn when you're on vacation, but it's totally worth it If you're going on a Jerusalem Sunrise Cycling tour. Riding through Jerusalem during that magical hour before sunrise is both calming and exhilarating. Phil and Matt take you through the winding paths of the Old City, seemingly knowing every ramp and alleyway. They completely took care of us and our bikes, leaving us free to notice things hidden by the crowds during the day. Sunrise over the desert and Jordan is stunning. Phil and Matt kept thrilling us with interesting stories and folktales. They even made us coffee and tea. When we finished, I felt like I had experienced Jerusalem fully and in such a unique way ... and it wasn't even breakfast time! Take a Jerusalem Sunrise Cycling tour. You won't ever forget it.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank GaryTheGuideIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil G, Owner at Jerusalem Sunrise Cycling, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2017

"Truly experience Jerusalem before breakfast"! Thank you so much for your help in letting others know that it really is worth it to wake up so early on vacation!

Happy riding!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2016

Matt and Phil were fun, informative and flexible. We had a great time. Sunrise over Jerusalem; a ride through the markets before they open and to each gate around the old city; and our group (only 2 of us) added Mea Shearim with a stop at a delicious bakery. Not a difficult ride and the group can change the itinerary if everyone agrees. One of our wonderful highlights while touring Israel.

Date of experience: December 2015
2  Thank Marc475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil G, Owner at Jerusalem Sunrise Cycling, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2016

Marc,

Adding Mea Shearim was our pleasure! We were glad you requested it - particularly when you shared your pastries =) Whenever our regular Monday riders all want to do something a little different we are happy to change the route as like we do on our private tours.

Thank you for taking the time to tell others about Sunrise Cycling!

Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2015

See Jerusalem at the crack of dawn as it slowly awakes. Bike through Yehuda Market when hardly a sole is around. Cruise through The Old City while it's still asleep and see a magnificent view of Jerusalem as the sun slowly rises. My guides Matt and Phil were so informative and you really got the feeling that they felt fortunate to be able to witness Jerusalem like most never do. Very gracious guys. The sunrise bike tour was one of the highlights of my trip to Israel. The tour was not tough for anyone who is in moderate to good shape. Don't miss out on this one. I can't recommend it enough!!

Date of experience: November 2015
2  Thank Benjamin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil G, Owner at Jerusalem Sunrise Cycling, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2016

Benjamin,

Thank you for taking the time to tell others about Sunrise Cycling.

You are right, Matt and I really do feel "fortunate to witness Jerusalem like most never do"!

I'm truly glad our ride was a highlight of your trip; and you will forever have my personal gratitude for writing my first tripadvisor review.

Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews