We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Actually there are 3 Abu Shukri's and all are OK”
Review of Abu Shukri

Abu Shukri
Ranked #97 of 726 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Lebanese, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Actually there are 3 Abu Shukri's and all are OK”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The original one is between the 4th and 5th station of Via Dolorosa in the Old City of Jerusalem and 2 are in Abu Ghosh on the way from Jerusalem to Tel Aviv and Ben Gurion Airport. One of them moved to the main streat of Abu Ghush
These are Humus restaurants, so don't look for fancy food. The menu is extremely limited, but that is the charm of it.
What you can get is Humus and what goes with it and it caters for vegetarians.
Don't go to the Abu Gush Abu Shukri's during weekends and the Jewish holidays, because the place is packed, on other days you can find a place.
Is their Humus the best in Israel? It depends on your preference, I like it, but wouldn't travel an extra 5 miles to eat there.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Massoud010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    91
    32
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

In the September issue of F&W magazine an article listed Abu Shukri in the Muslim quarter of the Old City as the place to go for the best hummus in the world. NOT! Don't waste your time. We found the place dirty and the service non-existent. Even the local who helped us find the "hole in the wall" place said it was over priced and the humus was only fair.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaryLouise53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ok for single but not for couple, family or group visit”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Dined 2 times there.

Good: Meal was ok, good hummus, friendly server

Not so good: Dirty restroom and kitchen, price is similar as other nicer restaurants, may overcharge if you pay with dollars

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelokonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“A disappointment -- and NOT the best hummus in the Old City”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I had long heard that Abu Shukri has "the best hummus in the Old City." Now, just posing that question risks setting off a war worthy of CNN. But I saw it and stopped in.

It was good. But not great, and not up to the reputation. Of more concern, the service was lacksadaisical and indifferent, even unfriendly. Perhaps it is less open to Westerners, Israelis, or non-Palestinians? I don't know. But I was underwhelmed.

Much better? The nearby Lina Restaurant at 42 Christian Quarter Road, near the intersection with Via Dolorossa. Also Palestinian-owned (lest my above comment be seen as political or biased). And they actually smile at you. Great food, FANTASTIC hummus, and friendly service.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wow, the best hummus in my life!!!”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Really one of the best flavours of hummus and Kebab we had taste until now. This place is really great. Located in the muslim quarter, Abu Shukri became our obligatory stop in the day for lunch everytime we could get in. They close early, by five in the afternoon. We recommed the hummus with hummus, excellent! , the kebab, really great, the falafel is also so good.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chunguis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abu Shukri also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Abu Shukri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing