We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old School Jerusalem”
Review of Tmol Shilshom Cafe

Tmol Shilshom Cafe
Ranked #7 of 706 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: Cafe, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: An old time dairy bookstore cafe restaurant in the city center, Tmol Shilshom is a popular, kosher culinary and cultural institution favored for its warm ambiance, delicious food, plethora of books and very friendly service. The cafe is well known for its delicious dishes including their famous shakshuka, a favorite amongst tourists, along with the salmon fillet in fig sauce, The Lover Salad and the cheese cake. It is located in a 150-year-old building and hosts readings by Israel's best-known writers. Tmol Shilshom is named after Nobel laureate S.Y. Agnon's novel (translated as "Those Were the Days"). It is open Sunday-Thursday, 8:30 am to 11:30 pm, Friday until before Shabbat and Saturday from after Shabbat.
2 reviews
“Old School Jerusalem”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Tmol Shilshom takes me back to the kind of cafes I first discovered in the early 1980s. It is homey, retro and delicioius. A great escape from the midday heat too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Edwin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    193
    33
    14
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sahlab cannot be missed!”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

While in Jerusalem a FB friend encouraged us to try out Tmol Shishom - both a wonderful restaurant and used bookstore! One of the best meals in Jerusalem and the beverage Sahlab is amazing. Exotic and sweet like the land of milk and honey.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and relaxing atmospere”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We took a group of 7 people and had one of our best meals in Jerusalem. The setting is in a bookshop atmosphere, but quiet and sedate which is away from the busy street in the downtown area. The food was all great, but the desserts were even better. Prices are comparable for any full service restaurant - don't miss this one.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffGarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely relaxing place with excellent food”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

the title of my review says it all-I should say i went on my own and felt completely relaxed by the atmosphere and the friendliness of the staff.It is not that easy to find but if you can(and it is very central)you will have a wonderful experience with a great variety of food and great help accompanied by real care and friendliness.

I had fish one night and pasta the next and they were brilliant-not to be missed

barry mordsley

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere - the best sahlab”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

It's one of my favorite places with a great atmosphere where I take all my friends (as I was taken by a friend for the first time), and maybe I like it because of its sahlab which is a special hot, sweet, milky drink from the Middle East (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Salep) - you must try it, but be careful, because you can easily fall in love with the drink and then asking it on other places and then being disappointed by the difference - that's how this place can become your favorite place as well... :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zsoozsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tmol Shilshom Cafe also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Tmol Shilshom Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing