We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ultimate Dump”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rimonim Shalom Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #63 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Ultimate Dump”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Travellers, beware of the ultimate "bait and switch" property. This out-dated and rotting montrosity of a hotel does not look anything like the photos on their website. I was scehduled for five nights at the Rimonim Shalom Hotel, and suffered through each one. I should have been warned when they charged my credit card UPON CHECK IN, before I'd been upstairs to see my room. Read on, friends (pay attention to #15.

1) The entire building is decrepid and in disrepair.
2) The hotel has "sick building syndrome" and will make you sick (as I was each night)
3) It was established in 1972 and only the lobby has been upgraded; the rooms, halls and elevators are straight from 1972, inlcuding the mattresses, carpet, sinks, toilets, hardware and tub.
4) You can see the rust in the filthy elevators (feeling safe yet?). Elevators are really unclean.
5) Hallways and elevators are not air-conditioned.
6) Paint is peeling.
7) Wall paper is peeling, yellowed and lifting.
8) Original 1972 carpets are filthy, crunchy, vile and disgusting. Clearly they've never been cleaned. I'm serious.
9) My bathroom was full of black mold and mildew. Filthy tub. "Grossed out" the entire time, and I'm not even close to be a germophobe; I can usually tought it out.
10) Bathroom in general was unsanitary.
11) The "towels" are actually rags we'd use for cleaning up messes at home, or for a painting project.
12) Phone: inoperative
13) Shower: sometimes inoperative
14) Toilet: inoperative half the time
15) The supposed "air conditioner" blew out HOT air that smelled like burning human hair since the ducts have clearly never been cleaned. I insisted (three calls to the front desk) they have the AC fixed and a technician removed the filter in front of me. There was literally a ONE INCH thick layer of compacted human hair blocking the air flow. Disgusting. He vacuumed it up right in my room so I got a close-up view of the lack of cleanliness in the building.
16) No new toilet paper rolls, you get the half roll (and the germs) from the previous guest.
17) Hallways are buckling and are wavy from the delapitated condition of the hotel.
18) Got sick to my stomach every time I ate breakfast or dinner there.
19) The lobby is upgraded since they spent money on the big bluff.
20) Upon arrival, you are greeted by the aroma of rotting trash, as the big (open) dumpsters are near the entrance to the hotel.
21) The front desk clerk told my sister "to stop calling me so much" and didn't pass on her messages and would not transfer her calls to my room (I guess it wouldn't have mattered since the phone only worked sporadically). I didn't receive important messages because of the bad mood of the clerk AND because the phone wasn't working.

Buy hey, the lobby sure looks nice!

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel, sleep in your car if you must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lilush14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    96
    81
    37
    37
See reviews for
79
72
22
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Stayed there in March with family. Rooms are falling apart. Absolutely Horrible!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pssdoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jerusalem hotels

Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I stayed in this Hotel with my family and Church group as part of a pilgrimage to Israel in 2011. It is a decent, quiet hotel, our room was always clean and it was spacious. There's air conditioning which you will find is very important in Israel. The hotel is also close to some tourist sites which is good although some are far off. The breakfast variety is amazing- was my favourite meal. DInner is also ggo however the dinning area is more of a school lunch hall arrangement which I did not enjoy. It is always very busy with loads of tourists and it is sometimes difficult to even get a lift to your floor.
All in all a decent hotel , though.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KandVaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

The staff in this hotel need lessons from the staff at their Eilat branch. The dinning staff looked like they were being forced to work. They had an ok food selection, good salad choices. The room I was given did not heat well and it was January. It was cold and wet this year. All request to have my heating checked or room changed at the reception went unheeded. I spent three nights there and it was the Sabbath, they were considerate enough to have a Sabbath elevator. The have good parking space and families seem to enjoy checking in for the weekend. The conference rooms and meeting rooms are good and equipped and there's easy access to the internet. It is a good hotel but I did not get good vibes from the staff. Something I rarely complain about.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TillISing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

The hotel deserves its three stars. Not new but clean and spacious rooms. Helpful staff. However it is situated far enough from the Old City.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Docsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Many rooms. With smoking free rooms. Good service. A little far from down town but Taxis are available.

Room Tip: The view is getting better when you reach the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phoenix31310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

ok..so last time we were here it was fine,so we returned..and not disappointed once again..still the same rooms,the same elevators..as slow as ever.a bit noisy..lots of kids whose parents let them roam free all over the hotel
The pool was open..fair to good,not really clean around the pool,but I suppose it was because of the amount of people.
The food... once again-consistant and fresh,plentiful and tasty.Friday night/Saturday traditional Israeli style ..no complaints from me I would say great for the price and therefore I do not expect fillet or caesar salad.I even asked for some fresh fruit at breakfast(although there was melon and compote on the buffet) and got it without any delay and with a smile..not many hotels do this
ok..next time..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eggjelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Jerusalem Gardens Hotel & Spa
#44 of 101 in Jerusalem
586 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#17 of 101 in Jerusalem
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Givat Ram
Ramada Jerusalem
Ramada Jerusalem
#59 of 101 in Jerusalem
23 reviews
Givat Ram
Hotel Prima Park
Hotel Prima Park
#28 of 101 in Jerusalem
663 reviews
Grand Court Hotel
#37 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimonim Shalom Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimonim Shalom Hotel Jerusalem

Property: Rimonim Shalom Hotel Jerusalem
Address: 24 Shacharai Street | Bait Va'gan, Jerusalem 91160, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimonim Shalom Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rimonim Shalom Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimonim Jerusalem Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing