We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BE VERY CAREFUL” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Herodyon National Park

Herodyon National Park
USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“BE VERY CAREFUL”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is not a review of Herodion itself, which we never got to see, but of the security at the site.

We came to Herodion, parked in their lower parking lot (the upper one was full) and left the cars locked while we had lunch. Shortly after, we saw from a distance how our car was stolen BEFORE our eyes. The thieves came with a white minivan and drove away with our car towards the Palestinian territories. Now the bad part, is that Herodion is whithin minutes of the Palestinian-ruled territories, which the Israeli police is not allowed to enter. So the car was gone and the Israeli police couldn't follow the thieves, even though we saw them drive away in the direction of Bethlehem. The israelis called the Palestinian police, who did absolutely nothing. The car and all our belongings in it were gone.
I feel that considering the tremendous potential for theft of the place (obviously the parking lot was being scouted by thieves) and given the ease of access to Palestinian-ruled territories which are outside the reach of the police, the site should have had a guard in the parking lot and have more checks on who has access to the site.

I am sorry we didn't get to see Herodion and that our vacation was marred by several days of paperwork. If you still go to Herodion (seems like a great site), make sure you leave your car in the upper parking lot, and don't leave anything valuable (or even mildy useful) in it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank LaItinerante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    65
    17
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Walk Through History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Absolutly loved my visit to here.it was a walk through history..you can walk down from the very top as there ae steps to go down and it takes about 25 minutes...find a small space at the top and then close your eyes and imagine this place when it was in its absolute glory..it was wonderful and I am thrilled that I had the chance to visit here..this was another tour with Bein Harim who were great.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“vigorous + excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Gorgeous-well done national site.
Note- a group of elderly people had a hard time climbing through the tunnel. Know your limitations, the stairs are steep.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank B F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing ruins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We went with a private guide we hired thru Bethlehem Bible College. For $100 he took us to several great locations in and around Bethlehem. Herodion was fascinating and a lot to see. Also a great view of entire valley. Nice breeze too.

Helpful?
1 Thank aa442u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
106 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“KING HEROD'S PALACE AND TOMB”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

A short drive south of Jerusalem lies a man-made mountain called Herodium. King Herod decided to construct his tomb at Herodium because the site played a role in two important events in his life.
The ruins of this fortress and lower palace are quite intact. Herod's tomb is located in the side of the mountain and is not accessible. There is quite a climb up the side of the mountain, but well worth it. There is a small visitors center with gift shop and be sure to watch the movie before visiting the site. Wear good hiking shoes and do not attempt if you are afraid of heights It is always good to know the history of the site before visiting, so I have included a short synopsis.

In the year 43 BCE, when Herod was still governor of the Galilee, he was forced to flee Jerusalem along with his family after his enemies laid siege to the city.

His mother's chariot flipped over near Herodium, and Herod became hysterical until he realized she was only lightly wounded. A short while later, the Parthians caught up to Herod and his entourage, although Herod and his men emerged victorious in the ensuing battle.

At Herodium, Herod built one of the largest complexes in the Roman Empire, which served as a residential palace, a sanctuary, an administrative center and a mausoleum. Herod first built an artificial cone-shaped hill that could be seen from Jerusalem, on which he constructed a fortified palace surrounded by watchtowers that he used solely in wartime.

At the base of the hill, he built an additional palace, which was the size of a small town and known as "Lower Herodium." The palace included many buildings, fancy gardens, pools, stables, and storage areas.
.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank slmueser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herodyon National Park also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Herodyon National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing