We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Court Hotel Jerusalem”
Review of Grand Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Court Hotel
Ranked #44 of 100 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewed January 5, 2014

A good Hotel. A large tourist hotel with a good location and very good food. Restaurant staff were excellent. Lobby staff was poor, unfriendly and unhelpful. Rooms were clean. Hotel could be noisy at times because of the large amount of guests. There is always a few who have no regard for others peace and quiet. WiFi does not work. All in all a good hotel because of location and restaurant.

Room Tip: Have a room away from the 8th floor Gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanislecanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

337 - 343 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed in Grand Court for 3N in end Nov. It was my second time in Grand Court (first time in 2009). On both occasions, the hotel was very crowded. The lobby is always packed with guests from all different nationalities.

We were part of a tour group, and hence did not get to try walking to the light rail station.

The hotel has many rooms on each level. Though there are many lifts, they are situated in the same location. Hence, we have to walk a long walk (one big round) to walk to and fro our room to the lift each time.

The room is of reasonable size, but a little dated. It'd be good if Grand Court's management could invest to refurnish the hotel and rooms, for the comfort of its guests. The bed is reasonably comfortable. They have attached to the wall bath gel and facial foam, besides shampoo and bar soap.

Though our room faced the street, we did not hear noise from the road when the windows were closed. Though there are many rooms and the hotel was almost full house when we were there, it was fairly quiet inside the rooms (which was a good point).

However, I was shocked to witness how the staff changed bed sheets one day, while we were in the room. He placed all our pillows on the floor, change the sheets and simply place the pillows back?! This was extremely unhygienic and I immediately requested for the pillow case to be changed.

The facial foam and bath gel were not automatically replenished, and we have to ask for replacement. The staff seemed to be in a rush in cleaning the rooms as we observed, and tried to do things as quickly as they can (likely due to too many rooms to clean).

There is free wifi in the lobby, which is fairly fast. The wifi in the room (supposedly) does not work at all, according to our friends who tried.

The best part of Grand Court is the buffet. We tried their breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner. The spread is big, with a wide array of salads, hot & cold dishes, meats, desserts to choose from. We were impressed and loved their freshly baked pitas and bagels every morning (the other guests loved it too, from the queues at the oven area) - really delicious and the best we have had throughout our entire trip!

I guess for the size of the hotel and large number of guests they serve each time, Grand Court's hotel staff did a reasonably good job to run the hotel efficiently.

However, it could improve on its service level to anticipate guests' needs (like checking on bath gel instead of guests asking for replacement), cleanliness, building additional lifts to minimise distance to walk, and refurbishments of the rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summerdayss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We were on a group tour and the Grand Court Hotel was our hotel in Jerusalem. The rooms were ok and were clean. The meals were an event that we shared with 900 other people at a time and were pretty much the same every meal, but I guess you get what you pay for. The wireless internet, that was supposed to be available did not work for the 4 days we stayed at the hotel. One desk clerk confided that the internet service usually didn't work and it wasn't the hotel's fault it was the internet providers fault.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dexter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The hotel is rather big one, catering to large tourist groups occupying dozens of rooms at any one time. The dining room is like a mini UN with hundreds from many countries.
Plus points: The breakfast buffet obviously needs to cater to the large number of travelers. The variety is good, esp the bread which is made in an open oven in the dining area. The desserts were also very nice with a wide range of cold and hot sweets.
Negative points: The hotel has seen better days. Several problems were experienced by our group including faulty heating system, unreliable internet connections, no towels, wrong time for wake-up calls, etc.
if you're looking for a quiet hotel with personalized treatment, this isn't it.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Courtyard are better than those overlooking the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E.S.Goh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The hotel was designed by an architect who thinks of riding around in a golf cart, not ever having to walk. The hike from the elevator to our room was tiring- did work up a good appetite on the return trip to the dining room! If you want to leave the hotel to walk around Jerusalem allow time for the very lengthy walk to the outside.

The food was fair. Selections were limited and not very tasty. The best feature was the desserts, which were imaginative and tasty. The arrangement of the buffet stations was quite confusing. It was good to find pareve margarine at meat meals.

Room Tip: Ask to be close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This is another giant hotel favored by tour groups to Jerusalem. Our stay in November 2013 was quite pleasant. The group was well looked after with well labeled tables for our meals. We were able to use meeting rooms in the bunkers ( an adventure in themselves) in the evening s. We learned the lesson that it is best not to arrive on Saturday as the orthodox don't start packing till the end of Shabbat ( this meant we did not gain access to our rooms till 7pm). This was not the fault of the hotel & added to our cross cultural knowledge. Although I prefer smaller hotels, the staff were pleasant & accommodating & it is a great place for those who are brave enough to tackle the very user friendly light rail that will take you through the main parts of this unique & wondrous city.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vera h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

As members of Israel's teachers' union, we were entitled to a subsidised weekend (which in Israel means Friday night and Saturday) and Grand Court was one of the hotels offered and priced much more reasonably than most of the others. Trip Advisor writeups were pretty much about a mediocre hotel, don't expect anything great, but clean and nothing horrific. So we booked with low expectations and were very pleasantly surprised. I don't know if the hotel has improved tremendously or what - but it was a lovely stay!
THUMBS UP: The room and ensuite bathroom were a fair size, room faced the main road but we experienced no street noise. We received a room on a low floor, as requested.
THUMBS UP: Dining room for all 3 meals was a pleasure in every way. First, Friday night and Saturday being the Jewish Sabbath, as we descended the spiral staircase leading to the dining room, we were met by a huge dining room dressed in white, except for the buffet which was all colours. The food was delicious, the service was impeccable. Tal and his dining room staff were courteous, hospitable and attentive. At one point, before my husband had even noticed that his jacket had slipped off his chair onto the floor, a waiter rushed over to pick it up and put it back on the back of the chair. Alongside religious and secular Jews enjoying their Friday night meal, were local Jerusalemite Arab guests and tourists on pilgrimage from Brazil, Malaysia and other countries all enjoying theirs and all enjoying Jerusalem's magic. At all 3 meals there was so much variety of eastern and western cuisine and salads and sweets galore.
THUMBS UP: Rooms and dining room were super clean.
THUMBS DOWN: the mattresses had seen better days, okay if you like soft mattress (we don't).
THUMBS DOWN for some traditional / orthodox Jews (females especially): women are behind a wall during prayers in the hotel's makeshift synagogue. I didn't stay in the synagogue on Friday night and prayed in my room instead. Of course, I didn't bother going there on Saturday morning either. There needs to be attention paid to respecting female guests as fully entitled to feel a part of the prayers, which in an orthodox synagogue, would mean
a. an unoffensive kind of partition (ie not one which means women cannot see what is going on) between women and men, and
b. women's section alongside, not behind, the men's.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonieIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#20 of 100 in Jerusalem
2,213 reviews
American Colony
Olive Tree Hotel
Olive Tree Hotel
#23 of 100 in Jerusalem
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#19 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,435 reviews
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#31 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,208 reviews
Eldan Hotel
#30 of 100 in Jerusalem
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Court Hotel

Address: 15 St. George Street | P.O. Box 280, Jerusalem 91002, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#31 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: $138 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Court Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Court Hotel is located in the heart of Jerusalem, walking distance from the Old City and modern city center. The hotel boasts 442 luxurious rooms and suites, which are lavishly furnished and equipped with modern conveniences. Hotel highlights include free Wi-Fi and computer stations, a beautiful outdoor pool, relaxing garden terrace, authentic Israeli breakfast buffet, and lounge bar. The Grand Court also offers banquet facilities and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Court Jerusalem
Hotel Grand Court
Grand Court Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing