We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Allan says below”
Review of Grand Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Court Hotel
Ranked #38 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What Allan says below”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

The reviewer Allan (below) has pretty much got this spot on. The hotel is too big to bother with individual customer service. Everything else is just okay. The rooms are perfectly acceptable and the hotel is located about 10/15 minutes from the Armenian quarter. However, we were massively disappointed that the pool is only open from 10-6. Tourists visiting Jerusalem will ordinarily be out for the majority of the day visiting the religious sites. The relief of a pool was the main reason we booked this hotel but we never got to use it. Disappointing overall.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikoAtkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    393
    226
    94
    61
See reviews for
266
303
64
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This outfit advertises itself as hotel but in truth it is a processing plant for large groups of pilgrims and everything about staff attitude and management action reinforces this business model. It relies on the hotel next door to cover its own shortcomings in the the field of customer service so the matter is not about the culture of Israel.
The experience begins with the vast reception hall which in truth is a 'marshalling yard' for the management for the control of the large groups.
The food hall is also ver y big so that the large groups can be separated/segregated into manageable units. The function of the' guardians' of the food halls is to monitor costs. The concept of "customers" never features in their mentality especially the head guardian.
In four days I never once witnessed (let alone experienced) a single act of civility or courtesy by any member of staff. The prevailing mantra in dealing with paying guests comes across as "What can I do to get rid of this individual - even if it means helping them"
The experince of my wife and I was so bad that we cut short our stay by checking out after four days so that we could save our vacation by moving next door to the HOTEL that had delivered more customer service than anything we encountered at this factory.
It is presumed that the endless supply of pilgrims from three faiths seeking a cheap visit will ensure its survival and a modicom of honesty about the business it is really in ought not to effect profitability and family tourists could avoid a very unhappy experience.
Allan Brian Doyle

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane Lew, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed here for three nights, part of a tour arranged by Unitours. Our room was large, very clean. The bed was comfortable, and everything (including the AC) worked well.

Our package included breakfast and dinner at the hotel's restaurant. The food was good, as was the service. There were many items to choose from. Dinner included a carving station for turkey one night (I think), beef another.

The hotel is located less than two miles from the Demascus gate of Old Jerusalem, a fairly easy walk.

I recommend this place, but not aware of what the cost per night is, since this was part of our tour package.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19Jim48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Location is very good next to the old city and to the light rail stop. Rooms are regular hotel size, from elevator to my room i had to walk down 3 long hallways. If you don't want spend all you time in the hotel, but see the city - it is good enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Location is good next to old city and to the light rail stop. Staff are nasty and unfriendly witch is common in Israel, yet they stand out even there. Rooms are regular hotel size, from elevator to my room i had to walk down 3 long hallways.it's a very busy place so if you like being pampered it's not for you.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We spent 1 night in this hotel, rooms are nice but Staff are not, they were not pleasent and they will not give you a late check out.

Wes much surprised about breakfast, this is supposed to be the higher end hotel from the next door Leonardo Hotel, I stayed 2 nights the week before in the Leonardo, and breakfast was on a much higher end in the Leonardo then in the Grand Court. They had a much bigger selection of food, and the Grand Court didn't even have a selection of bread, just 1 kind of roll and 2 kinds of bread, which warent fresh, as opposed to Leonardo which had a huge selection of hot fresh bread and delicious baguets.
Would prefer the Leonardo anytime over the Grand Court.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahershvisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very nice hotel with a big lobby and bright spacious rooms. Location wise it is not central but a 15’ walk from the old city. We only stayed there for a night and with the only purpose of visiting the old city so for us it was conveniently located. There is also a tram stop 2’ walking that takes you straight to the old city.
People at the front desk were not very friendly but I reckon they had the same attitude everywhere else in Israel.
There are tea and coffee making facilities (kettle, mugs, spoons) in the room but not coffee or tea (you have to buy downstairs). I found this wired.
Breakfast was alright, a bit too local for my taste but very abundant. Only point was coffee was left in jugs on the tables so it was not hot but we asked for to warm it up and they brought a fresh hot jug.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#18 of 101 in Jerusalem
2,084 reviews
American Colony
Olive Tree Hotel
Olive Tree Hotel
#20 of 101 in Jerusalem
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#29 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,136 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#16 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,342 reviews
Nachla'ot
Montefiore Hotel
Montefiore Hotel
#23 of 101 in Jerusalem
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Court Hotel

Property: Grand Court Hotel
Address: 15 St. George Street | P.O. Box 280, Jerusalem 91002, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#28 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Court Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Court Hotel is located in the heart of Jerusalem, walking distance from the Old City and modern city center. The hotel boasts 442 luxurious rooms and suites, which are lavishly furnished and equipped with modern conveniences. Hotel highlights include free Wi-Fi and computer stations, a beautiful outdoor pool, relaxing garden terrace, authentic Israeli breakfast buffet, and lounge bar. The Grand Court also offers banquet facilities and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Court Jerusalem
Hotel Grand Court
Grand Court Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing