We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy, Busy, Busy”
Review of Grand Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Court Hotel
Ranked #37 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Moneta, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Busy, Busy, Busy”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here while on a pilgrimage to Israel. While the hotel was nice, the rooms were spacious, and had a nice size bathroom, but the hotel was filled with other people who were also on tours. The restaurant, although huge, was loaded with people every night. Be aware...no coffee is served with dinner because of religious beliefs. You had to go to the lounge and pay for coffee. In the morning the tour buses were parked out in front, and there must have been 20 of them!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan36384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    393
    225
    94
    61
See reviews for
265
303
64
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

A really huge place that is set up to lodge and feed hundreds. Their stock-in-trade seems to be bus tours. OK for us, we were on a bus. But we would certainly not check in to this hotel if travelling alone: just too big and too assembly-line.

Check-In - was handled smoothly; room keys were ready for a bus tour of about 30 people.

Front desk people were a little snotty responding to query re: Internet.

Location - not great if you want local convenience stores, etc.

Room - quite nice, spacious enough and clean. Bed was good.

Noise - Back of the hotel is noisy from big arterial road (rooms XX24 through XX42).
Had to run the air conditioning because we could not open the window due to noise. Air conditioner drain via bathroom sink made gurgling noises all night.

Bathroom - modern, most functioning. Full bath tub, but plug did not work.

Internet - not very good. Did not work in room. Access in lobby (or down the hall) was OK.

Sign next to kettle in room, to purchase kit of coffee / tea for a high price. What a rip-off!
Fridge
Safe for valuables
TV channels - good selection including several in English.

Breakfast - huge and diverse

Dinner - huge and diverse. Very well presented, food well cooked.

NO decaf' coffee. Very strange for a place this size. Soy milk was a real struggle to get from staff who had "deer in the headlights" reaction to request for soy.
Gluten Free - did not even bother to ask after the hassle to try to get soy and decaf'.

Check-Out - handled well for group.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is noisy from big arterial road (rooms XX24 through XX42).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank energizer090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I've stayed here before, but the 4 days I spent there this time were quite disappointing. The hotel is a typical tourist hotel which means the service is lame and the rooms and hallways are pretty drab and worn. The food on my last two visits was fairly good. Not this time! Remind me never to visit Israel again during Holy Week! Kosher is fine, but Passover, beginning almost a week before, is terrible!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank king238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was the 3rd time as a tour group.

This hotel is acceptable for a tour group. It has a good location and the rooms are clean average but dated rooms.

Nothing special but okay.

We have always enjoyed the food but this year it was terrible. We arrived 4 days BEFORE passover started yet they had already started the passover unleaven fare.

Every meal was the leftovers reheated.

Breakfast had no omelets, no pancakes, no toast. These are all items that we have had in the past at this hotel.

Our guide complained to them that they started so early clearing out the leaven and we were stuck with leftovers as they cleared the kitchen.

Very disappointing.

Another complaint was one night it turned cool so the heater went on in every room and you could not control it. IT WAS HOT!

Otherwise it is sufficient and we would stay here again as a group.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judycking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed 6 nights at this hotel, arriving on a Friday. We had no idea that as guests we could not get anything at all to eat because it was shabbat. We couldn't even get a sandwich to take to the room. Reception's idea of service was to send us to ask the hotel next door (Olive Tree) what to do.Reception at the OT was excellent. Booked out themselves, but booked us into a great local restuarant. All we got from GC was a shoulder shrug. Not very filling. GC Jerusalem didn't have an ATM, sent us to the OT. Laundry was held to ransom. We had to go down to reception to pay for it before we could have it. It came back wet. If you are thinking of booking the Grand Court Jerusalem do yourself a favour and book next door at the Olive Tree. That will save the reception staff at GC sending you there.

Room Tip: Don't book any room at this hoterl, go next door where they DO understand service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel caters mainly for the mass market. Located in the older part of Jerusalem, it is within 15 minute walk to Damascus Gate at the Old City.

The room felt rather tired and dated. I had problems with the room’s air conditioning – it was not only annoyingly noisy but the temperature could not be controlled. It was way too warm and dry despite lowering the thermometer to the lowest level. I had to open the window for some ventilation. Wifi was available for free in the hotel lobby and room. But it’s almost impossible to get any wifi connection in the room itself.

Breakfast and dinner buffet spread had a reasonable selection of dishes. You would be joining a few hundred other guests in a large cafeteria-like dining hall. Forget about getting any omelette/fried egg in the mornings as there’s only 1 staff handling egg station. Most of us wouldn’t bother to queue for it. And it takes a massive effort to get your coffee jug refilled for the table (and it’s not even your individual coffee cup).

This hotel is very crowded (especially during peak season with large package tour groups and locals with large families and kids running about). Service from the staffs was largely unenthusiastic, unhelpful and inattentive and they looked grumpy and irritable. You actually felt really unwelcomed here.

With no concierge service here, we seek assistance from the front desk staff for recommendations of local restaurants in the newer part of Jerusalem. We were advised to go to Ben Yehuda Street. When we asked which restaurant, we got an answer similar to “just get to that street and find your own restaurant”! We were informed that a taxi ride there would cost US$10, but it ended up US$13 after negotiating on the fare before our “very short” ride. Anyway, we ended up at Adom restaurant and had a great time there (after getting advice from a much friendlier and helpful barista at a coffee shop along Ben Yehuda Street). We actually took the taxi, instead of the city tram which was cheaper and quite convenient, as we were not able to get any small change from the Reception desk . The tram station is just a few minute walk away from the hotel.

We had an even worse experience at the hotel bar.

Our first visit to the bar: We asked the bartender to recommend a bottle of wine and, without saying anything, he just pointed to 3 bottles on the bar top. We selected our bottle and since he looked busy, we asked for the bottle to be later delivered to us whenever he’s free. We found a table which was not cleared and was dirty. He delivered the bottle and 2 glasses, placed them on the table. Came back with a spray cleaner and immediately sprayed the detergent all over the table (even when our opened bottle and exposed glasses were on the table).

Our second visit to the bar (which we truly regretted): We went to the bar counter and ordered a bottle of wine. I wasn’t expecting them to deliver the bottle (after our previous experience) so I told the bartender to hand me the bottle and 2 glasses. We were totally ignored and made to stand at the bar counter for the next 7-8 minutes while they were doing their own business taking new orders and serving other customers. Finally managed to get their attention (the bar area wasn’t even big). The bartender handed the bottle minus the wine glasses and left it as it is. Requested for the wine glasses and he very hesitantly gave 2 glasses. Now this is certainly beyond bad service. There seemed to be a concerted effort to victimise us (or perhaps, towards certain category of guests)!

I’ve reviewed close to 50 hotels for the past 3 years on TP and I’ve never experienced such appalling service. I would never ever accept such bad service but like most guests here, I was on a pilgrimage and "miraculously" managed to remain calm and somehow put up with it. This hotel seems to enjoy a monopolistic position here and I would not expect much response, if any, even if I had raised these issues with them during my stay. Chances are, if you are on a package tour, you’d most likely be put in this hotel. But at the very least, you should know what to possibly expect during your stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rafalution_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Isn't all about expectations? This is a large, tour group hotel-.I found the staff friendly and doing their best with a very crowded hotel filled with demanding guests.
The rooms: our first room was on the 2nd floor, the carpet in the halls was ancient, our room dingy, linens standard and view of the loading dock. We were not pleased, the majority of our group was on the top floor with renovated rooms,better linens, cleaner halls, and a view of the city. We expected the same.The couple who was below street level on the first floor received a new room during dinner and we were glad for them. We persisted and were graciously moved to a higher floor the second day. It was fine. The sunrise over the city was gorgeous.
The food: Our first dinner was Friday night, we enjoyed the cultural experience of dining with the Orthodox families. The buffet had a wide variety of local food- gefilte fish is better than I thought.
After trying the mediocre unlabeled meat items, I stuck with the excellent roasted chicken, fresh veggies, hummus etc. The desserts were , as expected, mass produced and pretty tasteless. We had fresh fruit,nuts, cheese. It was fine.
The front desk staff were very helpful we took the light rail to Mamilla, they arranged a rental bus for 17 of us to the connection for the Midnight Biking in Jerusalem.
The lobby bar has plenty of space for groups to gather.
The Wi-Fi connection was very unreliable.
The location: not super convenient-The American Hotel is nearby but not much else.

Room Tip: the 4th floor is the ground level, choose the highest floor available
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#17 of 101 in Jerusalem
2,079 reviews
American Colony
Olive Tree Hotel
Olive Tree Hotel
#20 of 101 in Jerusalem
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#27 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,135 reviews
Nachla'ot
Montefiore Hotel
Montefiore Hotel
#23 of 101 in Jerusalem
458 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#16 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Court Hotel

Property: Grand Court Hotel
Address: 15 St. George Street | P.O. Box 280, Jerusalem 91002, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#28 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Court Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Court Hotel is located in the heart of Jerusalem, walking distance from the Old City and modern city center. The hotel boasts 442 luxurious rooms and suites, which are lavishly furnished and equipped with modern conveniences. Hotel highlights include free Wi-Fi and computer stations, a beautiful outdoor pool, relaxing garden terrace, authentic Israeli breakfast buffet, and lounge bar. The Grand Court also offers banquet facilities and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Court Jerusalem
Hotel Grand Court
Grand Court Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing