We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over all about average” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Court Hotel
Ranked #36 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Pipe Creek, Texas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Over all about average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel on several occasions and feel it does a pretty good job overall. The food is just above average and the service is about the same. As others have noted, the dining rooms do get fairly loud, but thats to be expected during the busiest meal times. Arriving early for dinner is usually the best. The rooms are standard Israeli tour fare with the usual amenities and cleanliness has never been an issue.
I have only had one difficult experience here. The standard in Israel today is to charge for internet access-high speed or not-and this hotel is no exception. However, the last time I was there the hotel Rabbi ensured that the hotel modem was disconnected and hence there was no access. I understand the concept of shabbat and the use of electrical devices, but the hotel staff was of no help and did not seem able to even refund my $18 fee. An inconvenience for sure, but without any sort of remedy, the land of a refund merely made things worse.
If you're traveling with a group, this hotel will serve you fine and although it is quite a walk from the Old City, it's just an inconvenience. You will find that Gordon's Garden is just up the street though.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank filmtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    360
    209
    87
    55
See reviews for
235
285
62
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

the room was very comfortable. It had an amazing view over the old city. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Jerusalem! It’s close to all main attractions – easy walking distance. The staff were extremely friendly ranging from all nationalities – also real example of arab israelis working as a team. I had a real sense of friendship and family here – a real happy atmosphere. A credit to the hotel’s management to have an enthusiastic customer service team that clearly let’s the guests know the staff are happy to be serving you!
In particular a special thanks to Ameer ( meaning Prince in Arabic – very nice) who was helpful on the front desk. Habib in the breakfast room was just a pleasure to have her serve us – warm, friendly and nothing a problem. The food was exquisite – fresh, tasteful and such a good variety – I loved the Israeli salads for Breakfast along with my usual american style breakfast choices – we sure ate breakfast like a King! Having stayed at many hotels - I naturally look for standards of cleanliness, room quality, service, food freshness, quantity and presentation – all surpassed my own hotel criteria. Of course it was highly affordable and the location was great.
I enjoyed the lovely outdoor swimming pool and bought my souvenirs in the gift shop on the lobby floor.
The only comment was a light bulb that went on our second night above the bed – however, that was fixed quickly.
Thanks for an outstanding stay – highly recommended!!!!
New Zealand travelers.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gizzy123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

We took 2 rooms one for us and one for our daughter's family. The rooms are very nice furnished and clean. A welcome cokolate box was waiting on the table.
The service was excellent right from the check-in until we left the hotel.
When we came we where invited for a cold drink and a free parking.
Diner was excellent, tasty and rich. Service was polite and effective.
The day after we joined a free tour organized by the hotel in east Jerusalem. We took a walk from the Muslem quarter to the Jewish and concluded with the Christian quarter.

Overall, all of us enjoied our stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank menachem5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed 5 nights in the Grand Court Hotel at the end of May. We were quite taken by the pictures and reviews, and the good rate offered by the tour operator that we booked this hotel. The lovely reception area is quite impressive and spacious when you walk in but were a bit disappointed that this wasn't as grand as we thought it would be.

The hotel is located to the east end of Jerusalem with an Arab district to the front door - hence most of the staff were Arab - and a very religious Jewish District to the back! No problem... however, the nearest shop was 10 minutes walk and you had the choice of going Turkish or Arab in not the nicest areas of Jerusalem.

If you like walking, and Jerusalem is a hilly city, there is a good 30 minute walk to the Old City and there again to the Jaffa Road area. We were able to keep very fit by walking everywhere. However, once the tram takes passengers, this will be a great hopping on and off form of public transport if you stay in this hotel!

The rooms are just very average with comfy beds and a nice shower but soap coming from a dispenser. There was enough room for us to pack and spread out our belongings. There was a kettle in the room but you needed to pay for tea/coffee - or take a few tea-bags from the breakfast buffet.

We had the choice of having breakfast in the downstairs dining room or a smaller room near the cafe. I think this was to over-see the large groups which this hotel catered for. The 2nd option wasn't available on a Saturday, though. There was plenty of choice of breakfast - of all the usual Israeli breakfast staples plus freshly squeezed orange juice (only in the smaller room). The breakfast varied slightly each day with lots of fresh fruit and salads and omeletes prepared on the spot. The food was over all good and nicely presented but the waiters had a habit of taking away your plate as soon as you put your fork/spoon down or went back to the buffet. We dined in the lower dining room on the Saturday and this was a very noisy experience indeed. The dining room, of course, offered a much larger variety of food.

The pool area was lovely and clean but the downside was the lack of sun loungers. 6 counted in total. There were many relaxers and parasols, and you were able to get free beach towels for the pool. However, if you were lucky to get a sunlounger, and left it for more than 5 minutes, the towel was taken away and someone else would be sat in your place. Reserving sun loungers at 6 am is an impossible NO! The pool area doesn't open til 10 am and is first come, first served.

My Husband and I used the gym - a tiny room, with old fashioned cardio and some weights. We tried to use this at 5 pm on Friday and it was locked it! We reported this to reception and they said the instructor might have gone to the toilet. We returned but again it was locked. The gym didn;t open til 10 am which put a pay to going for an early work-out and a day of either sun bathing or sight-seeing. Very annoying! Certainly doesn't cater for someone staying at the hotel on business.

We decided to dine in the hotel on Friday night, and made enquiries about the price. However, when we came to reserve a table, we were advised the hotel was full and we had to make alternative arrangements. The receptionists were not at all helpful when my husband said we are paying guests in the hotel - and what are suppose to do as it is Friday night! We ended up dining in the Olive Tree next door which was just excellent and probably much nice than the Grand Court.

Over all the hotel was full of French and tour groups - with coach loads of people pulling up and leaving each day. You hardly saw the same face the next day and considering we stayed here 5 nights, it was difficult to understand this concept.

The hotel has lots of potential - but I suppose the lack of space around the pool, the large dining room for breakfast, the noisy French, the coach loads, the lack of local amentities - ie hardly any shops nearby and certainly no restaurant in reasonable walking distance, make a visit at this hotel less than grand.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LizzzzyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
197 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

Stayed with a tour group for four nights at GC. Except for one minor misunderstanding, the food and wait staff in the restaurant were very good. As others have said, the reception desk crew could care less about service. They were 'never' helpful when anyone asked for assistance. Worse than that, they did not appear to even try to help. Everything else about teh hotel was fine, but that front desk crowd were a sour lot.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachdeac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Rooms: neat, clean, a bit "aseptic". Fitness: tiny but not crowded. Swimming pool: open alternatively to men and women (see time schedule), thus very limited hours. Internet: expensive. Location: great, 10mn to the Old Town (Damas gate), 20mn to Ben Yehuda. Meals: Great selection of fresh Middle East meals for all taste and appetite (salad, meat, soups). Desert buffet is generous and breakfast massive (with halva!). Most of the customers are groups.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ponyfabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

Superficially this hotel checks most of the boxes but drill down a bit and the service levels just aren't there. Take "Tea and Coffee making facilities" as an example, each room has a kettle and 2 cups, but no coffee or tea. If you want to flavor your boiling water you have to purchase a pack of tea and coffee from the front desk!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bolleaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#15 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
American Colony
Olive Tree Hotel
Olive Tree Hotel
#19 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#17 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#10 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Caesar Premier Jerusalem
#7 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Court Hotel

Property: Grand Court Hotel
Address: 15 St. George Street | P.O. Box 280, Jerusalem 91002, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#28 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Court Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Court Hotel is located in the heart of Jerusalem, walking distance from the Old City and modern city center. The hotel boasts 442 luxurious rooms and suites, which are lavishly furnished and equipped with modern conveniences. Hotel highlights include free Wi-Fi and computer stations, a beautiful outdoor pool, relaxing garden terrace, authentic Israeli breakfast buffet, and lounge bar. The Grand Court also offers banquet facilities and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Court Jerusalem
Hotel Grand Court
Grand Court Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing