We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Court Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$391
$380
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montefiore Hotel(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
$164
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Yehuda(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
$191
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dan Jerusalem Hotel(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
$220
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$790
$595
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$660
$595
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
National Hotel Jerusalem(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
$115
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Jerusalem(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
$191
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$272
$259
Atlas.co.il
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Sephardic House(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
$190
$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,212)
Filter reviews
1,212 results
Traveler rating
368
436
240
99
69
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
436
240
99
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold citydamascus gatebreakfast and dinnertour grouplarge hotelother hotelsdining room istour busbuffet stylefour nightssaladlobby areaeast jerusalemcomfortable roomslight railamerican colonyisrael
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
525 - 530 of 1,212 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We took 2 rooms one for us and one for our daughter's family. The rooms are very nice furnished and clean. A welcome cokolate box was waiting on the table.
The service was excellent right from the check-in until we left the hotel.
When we came we where invited for a cold drink and a free parking.
Diner was excellent, tasty and rich. Service was polite and effective.
The day after we joined a free tour organized by the hotel in east Jerusalem. We took a walk from the Muslem quarter to the Jewish and concluded with the Christian quarter.

Overall, all of us enjoied our stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank menachem5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed 5 nights in the Grand Court Hotel at the end of May. We were quite taken by the pictures and reviews, and the good rate offered by the tour operator that we booked this hotel. The lovely reception area is quite impressive and spacious when you walk in but were a bit disappointed that this wasn't as grand as we thought it would be.

The hotel is located to the east end of Jerusalem with an Arab district to the front door - hence most of the staff were Arab - and a very religious Jewish District to the back! No problem... however, the nearest shop was 10 minutes walk and you had the choice of going Turkish or Arab in not the nicest areas of Jerusalem.

If you like walking, and Jerusalem is a hilly city, there is a good 30 minute walk to the Old City and there again to the Jaffa Road area. We were able to keep very fit by walking everywhere. However, once the tram takes passengers, this will be a great hopping on and off form of public transport if you stay in this hotel!

The rooms are just very average with comfy beds and a nice shower but soap coming from a dispenser. There was enough room for us to pack and spread out our belongings. There was a kettle in the room but you needed to pay for tea/coffee - or take a few tea-bags from the breakfast buffet.

We had the choice of having breakfast in the downstairs dining room or a smaller room near the cafe. I think this was to over-see the large groups which this hotel catered for. The 2nd option wasn't available on a Saturday, though. There was plenty of choice of breakfast - of all the usual Israeli breakfast staples plus freshly squeezed orange juice (only in the smaller room). The breakfast varied slightly each day with lots of fresh fruit and salads and omeletes prepared on the spot. The food was over all good and nicely presented but the waiters had a habit of taking away your plate as soon as you put your fork/spoon down or went back to the buffet. We dined in the lower dining room on the Saturday and this was a very noisy experience indeed. The dining room, of course, offered a much larger variety of food.

The pool area was lovely and clean but the downside was the lack of sun loungers. 6 counted in total. There were many relaxers and parasols, and you were able to get free beach towels for the pool. However, if you were lucky to get a sunlounger, and left it for more than 5 minutes, the towel was taken away and someone else would be sat in your place. Reserving sun loungers at 6 am is an impossible NO! The pool area doesn't open til 10 am and is first come, first served.

My Husband and I used the gym - a tiny room, with old fashioned cardio and some weights. We tried to use this at 5 pm on Friday and it was locked it! We reported this to reception and they said the instructor might have gone to the toilet. We returned but again it was locked. The gym didn;t open til 10 am which put a pay to going for an early work-out and a day of either sun bathing or sight-seeing. Very annoying! Certainly doesn't cater for someone staying at the hotel on business.

We decided to dine in the hotel on Friday night, and made enquiries about the price. However, when we came to reserve a table, we were advised the hotel was full and we had to make alternative arrangements. The receptionists were not at all helpful when my husband said we are paying guests in the hotel - and what are suppose to do as it is Friday night! We ended up dining in the Olive Tree next door which was just excellent and probably much nice than the Grand Court.

Over all the hotel was full of French and tour groups - with coach loads of people pulling up and leaving each day. You hardly saw the same face the next day and considering we stayed here 5 nights, it was difficult to understand this concept.

The hotel has lots of potential - but I suppose the lack of space around the pool, the large dining room for breakfast, the noisy French, the coach loads, the lack of local amentities - ie hardly any shops nearby and certainly no restaurant in reasonable walking distance, make a visit at this hotel less than grand.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LizzzzyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Stayed with a tour group for four nights at GC. Except for one minor misunderstanding, the food and wait staff in the restaurant were very good. As others have said, the reception desk crew could care less about service. They were 'never' helpful when anyone asked for assistance. Worse than that, they did not appear to even try to help. Everything else about teh hotel was fine, but that front desk crowd were a sour lot.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachdeac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Rooms: neat, clean, a bit "aseptic". Fitness: tiny but not crowded. Swimming pool: open alternatively to men and women (see time schedule), thus very limited hours. Internet: expensive. Location: great, 10mn to the Old Town (Damas gate), 20mn to Ben Yehuda. Meals: Great selection of fresh Middle East meals for all taste and appetite (salad, meat, soups). Desert buffet is generous and breakfast massive (with halva!). Most of the customers are groups.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ponyfabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Superficially this hotel checks most of the boxes but drill down a bit and the service levels just aren't there. Take "Tea and Coffee making facilities" as an example, each room has a kettle and 2 cups, but no coffee or tea. If you want to flavor your boiling water you have to purchase a pack of tea and coffee from the front desk!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bolleaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews