We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best way to get to know Jerusalem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allenby Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Allenby Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 56 Jerusalem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pocatello, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best way to get to know Jerusalem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Allenby 2 is much more than a Bed and Breakfast...it is an experience. If you want fancy, elegant, or artsy, then go somewhere else. If you just want a great experience then stay here. Allenby is like being in a friend's home and eating at his table. Allenby is a place to meet and visit with interesting, everyday people from all over the world in an intimate setting. Many languages are spoken here but English, Hebrew, German, and Russian seem to be the most helpful in communicating with others at Allenby 2. The actual house itself was once an older, prominent mansion-type home in the historical neighborhood of Romema, Jerusalem sitting on the Allenby Square. It is a literal stone's throw from the central bus station. The monument there, now surrounded by a lively playground for the neighborhood orthodox children, is a tribute to the surrender of the Ottoman Army to the British in 1917. In those days this spot was in the outskirts of Jerusalem, sitting just one half block from Jaffa Road that leads to the Jaffa gate of the Old City. One can easily walk the distance to the Old City in about 30 minutes or you can jump on the new light rail that runs the entire length of Jaffa Road and beyond. The ride to the walls takes about 10 minutes. I have stayed with Danny Flax on multiple visits to Jerusalem. You can trust him. He will bend over backwards to make sure you have a great visit and leave satisfied. He gladly dishes out travel advice and helps you figure out where to go and what buses to take. He will give you advice on what to see if you ask. He offers free wireless and a hearty breakfast that is prepared and served to your liking. If you like to cook your own lunch and dinner then walk to the nearby Manhe Yehuda market, buy some fresh fruits, vegetables, and meats and cook them up in the large kitchen whenever you want to eat your own way. You can keep food in the large refrigerator or you can eat out at any of the nearby restaurants. The house has been carved up into various sizes of rooms that vary from small to large but all are affordable and clean. Like most neighborhoods in Jerusalem there are city noises that you have to put up with, but taken as a whole I love staying here and will stay here again, and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richk5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    61
    8
    3
    6
See reviews for
47
52
61
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Danny Flax is a tremendous host and does a good job of catering to his individual guests needs. He was very accommodating for my wife and me when we honeymooned in Jerusalem. I've noticed the "bad" reviews of this Bed and Breakfast mention that it is "not close to the Old City at all". Don't let that discourage you from staying here. If you plan on going to Jerusalem, you should plan on doing a lot of walking. That just comes with the territory. But one can walk from Allenby 2 to Jaffa gate in 30 minutes easily. As for the building being old and outdated, it was built before Israel was a country, so it isn't modern, but it is in great shape. It is a great place to stay in Jerusalem.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ont.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

Have stayed repeately ( 1998- 2009) at this great Bed and breakfast run by Danny Flax. It is neat, clean, and very efficiently run . It is close to the Central Bus Depot ( which gets you everywhere in Israel), and grocery stores.Danny and his staff are very friendly, knowleadgable , and certainly helpful about how to get around Jerusalem and Israel.. Have stayed there approx. 5-6 times, and will stay there again if I get to Israel Often refer it to others.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Micki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

I think that the review titled 'A Real Dump' and dated July 15, 2010 is highly unfair and definitely does not reflect the truth at Allenby No 2 managed by Mr Danny Flax. I understand that such a review can be very damaging and that is why one has to be objective and not let personal frustrations take control.

To start with, I wish to state that I am Maltese and I am not related to Danny in any way. Accompanied by my wife, I stayed at his place for 13 days. We were offered very reasonable rates; lodging in Jerusalem can be very expensive. We liked the very informal and homely atmosphere. Breakfasts were generous: scambled eggs, juices, coffee, toasted bread, fruit .... We also had the free use of the kitchenette.

The room was not 5 star (one finds that at the King David) but comfortable, quiet and clean and we liked it. We felt really at home at his place.

Danny was very helpful. On our first day, having told him that we intend to use the Egged Bus Service a lot, he took us to the bus station and familiarized us with the place. He told us to the bank to get shekels. He used to call for taxes for us. Danny is the kind of person you feel you have known for ages the first time you meet him!!

Allenby No 2 is not in downtown Jerusalem but there are frequent buses to the Old City. We don't speak Hebrew but we never had any problems using public transport. Most drivers speak English and fellow Israeli passengers are always ready to help.

We will surely return to Jerusalem one day and we will definitely stay again at Danny's.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaltaCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Danny is providing an acceptable room and meal for the budget traveler. He and staff are very friendly, helpful and will assitant in your travels.

Close to bus stops for Old City, take bus 10 or 20 toward the old city and get off at Jaffa gate or come around to the Dung gate. A bus ride is 6 shekles if I recall.

A highlight of every morning was having breakfast with people from all over the world.

I would recomend this and would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tobycolumbusOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

Danny's B&B was exactly what I was looking for. A quiet and clean place to sleep. Close to the busstation and highlights of the city. Danny was also very helpful. Hardly you find such a nice and accomendating host and staff. His wife was also gentle. The price was reasonable. Also celebrating shabbat dinner on friday evening was a good experience. I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tjakka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

Allenby 2 has basic Spartan rooms that are quiet and well located to explore Jerusalem from. The host Danny Flax is always helpful and offers great advice. It is a stiff but pleasant walk to the old city past the central market. The breakfast is good and hearty for a days exploration of Jerusalem

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ikes_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DANNYJERUSALEM, Owner at Allenby Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
I am traveling every year about 40 days I don't need a luxury room what I need is a clean room ,a reasonable combatable bed , private bath room with hot water ,air condition and central heating,free internet connection,tel line ,free coffee and tea, good location and friendly atmosphere, I don't wont to spend a lot of money
on accommodation because it is mainly for sleeping

and this is what we are giving to our guests and because of this many of them are coming again or they are sending friends and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#24 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nachla'ot
21st Floor Hotel
21st Floor Hotel
#2 of 97 in Jerusalem
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Abraham Hostel Jerusalem
#2 of 64 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
Muslim Quarter
Hashimi Hotel
Hashimi Hotel
#5 of 56 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allenby Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allenby Bed & Breakfast

Property: Allenby Bed & Breakfast
Address: Rehov Yafo 216, Jerusalem 9083600, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Allenby Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allenby Bed And Breakfast
Allenby Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing