We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tomb, what tomb?”
Review of King David's Tomb

King David's Tomb
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Jerusalem Full Day Tour from Tel Aviv
Ranked #57 of 304 things to do in Jerusalem
Attraction details
Level Contributor
260 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Tomb, what tomb?”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Still don't know what this attraction is supposed to be about, we waited a while before our tour group went in, and then it is really just somewhere to pray.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Colincoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    66
    61
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

For a site that apparently has such significance to certain people, I found that it was very poorly maintained. The people installed there were unfriendly and unhelpful (I don't know if they were 'staff' or not) and the place itself was hard to find.

Most surprising for me was that women had a separate viewing area (a small uncomfortable area where they could catch a glimpse of the tomb from behind a partition) while men could freely walk in. As a northern European woman I was quite taken aback by being treated like an inferior member of the species, it came as a big culture shock! If you're offended by gender discrimination, I'd suggest to give this place a miss...

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A tourist/religious site”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Part of every tourist tour of Jerusalem, the Tomb of King David, is outside the old city wall below the room of the Last Supper. Men and women have separate viewing areas. Women get to crowd into a smaller area and peek through a curtain screen to get a glimpse of the tomb while the men have direct access to the site. As a woman traveler I forgot what it is like to be treated like a second class person.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank robbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“His Royal Highness King David of Israel - Our King”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

His Royal Highness Our King David was not buried here as he was buried in the City of David. This is the traditional place of his burial, not the actual place. Since we love our King David and His Royal blood line, we paid our respect and homage to our King David.

Men and women go via two separate sides. Men you need to cover your head as a matter of respect when entering the burial chamber. Rest in Peace my King. See you in God's Kingdom. Amen.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank vinesho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It depends...”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

As in most of the places in the old city of Jerusalem, it is very hard to give an objective rating. the artistic value of most of the places do not come close to famous cathedrals and churches in Europe. but what really matter is the story behind these places. if you beleive it (and sometimes even if you don't, it's nice to see other people extacy)- it may be a very powerfull experience. if you don't connect on the emotional level' it's just a place' usually a dirty and neglected one, with many odd people and habbits (look for the interpetation of "Jerusalem syndrome")

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank o0oOo0o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King David's Tomb also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to King David's Tomb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing