We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tourist/religious site”
Review of King David's Tomb

King David's Tomb
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Jerusalem Full Day Tour from Tel Aviv
Ranked #55 of 308 things to do in Jerusalem
Attraction details
Kitchener
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A tourist/religious site”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Part of every tourist tour of Jerusalem, the Tomb of King David, is outside the old city wall below the room of the Last Supper. Men and women have separate viewing areas. Women get to crowd into a smaller area and peek through a curtain screen to get a glimpse of the tomb while the men have direct access to the site. As a woman traveler I forgot what it is like to be treated like a second class person.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank robbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    68
    61
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“His Royal Highness King David of Israel - Our King”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

His Royal Highness Our King David was not buried here as he was buried in the City of David. This is the traditional place of his burial, not the actual place. Since we love our King David and His Royal blood line, we paid our respect and homage to our King David.

Men and women go via two separate sides. Men you need to cover your head as a matter of respect when entering the burial chamber. Rest in Peace my King. See you in God's Kingdom. Amen.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank George09822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It depends...”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

As in most of the places in the old city of Jerusalem, it is very hard to give an objective rating. the artistic value of most of the places do not come close to famous cathedrals and churches in Europe. but what really matter is the story behind these places. if you beleive it (and sometimes even if you don't, it's nice to see other people extacy)- it may be a very powerfull experience. if you don't connect on the emotional level' it's just a place' usually a dirty and neglected one, with many odd people and habbits (look for the interpetation of "Jerusalem syndrome")

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank o0oOo0o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Odd... touristy”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Too much of a coincidence that the Christian site of the supposed 'upper room' adjoins the place of King David. I think not...as far as true history. There is also a burial area attributed to King David on the tour of the City of David..a MUST SEE,

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Templedance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Four Oaks, North Carolina
Level Contributor
228 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“King David's Tomb - Jerusalem”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was a place visited as part of a guided tour. I would recommend a guided tour if visting the Holy Sites of Israel and paying as close attention to the tour guide's descriptions of the places visited as to the act of photographing the extraordinary sites there are to offer.

King David's Tomb, although, debatable as to how close it actually is to where it's stated presence says it is - is a relic like many others that is and has been there for over 1,000 years. Worthy of a have-a-look while in Jerusalem.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King David's Tomb also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to King David's Tomb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing