We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique”
Review of Me'a She'arim

Me'a She'arim
Ranked #77 of 308 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is something that you really csn't see outside Israel. like it or not, its unique and thus very interesting.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank o0oOo0o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    30
    15
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An insightful walk through”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Mea Shearim is a step back in time to eastern Europe in the 19th Century. Interesting. I would like to remind you that the Ultra Orthodox are people of faith and not objects to be stared at. Be kind and respectful.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Templedance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliya, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
156 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The most Jewish orthodox neighborhood”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Very different, very interesting. Wear long sleeves, they demand acovered body.It feels like coming to 1000 years ago place.

Helpful?
2 Thank Michal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
211 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Mea Shearim”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I loved being in this area, people were so nice, and the Judaica stores were wonderful. I was trying to remeber the name of the fantastic book store there where they write or stamp your initialsn on the books that you purchase if anyone can help me and also the street that it is on.
Any help would be appreciated. Remember to dress respectably in this area, long sleeves and longer length dresses preferred.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank sanmerle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“people watching gone wrong”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

people didnt seem to appreciate the tourists. they are sensitive. it wasnt fun. better places to see people (especially if you dont dress "modestly" include tel aviv, mahanehyehuda...)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank nycsir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Me'a She'arim also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Me'a She'arim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing