We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible rooms and unfriendly staff”

Jerusalem International YMCA
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Terrible rooms and unfriendly staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I searched for days to find a medium range, smaller hotel for a two night stay in Jerusalem. I made my decision to book the YMCA because I trusted the 'brand' and usually have good experiences with the Y. This has completely changed my mind. The people who work at the front desk can't be bothered to help you and I felt like I was annoying them at check in. I rate a room based on cleanliness. A simple room, if it's clean can be a perfect place to stay. This room smelled bad, there was mold in the bathroom, dirty walls, and the door didn't shut tightly. If this were a youth hostel then I would understand, but you still pay $150 a night. Next time I will pay an extra $50 and stay somewhere nicer, or I think one of the guest houses would be a better option. Whatever you do, don't stay here.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hibariSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    27
    12
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderfull”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

A very uniqe architecture - one of the most beautifull buildings in jerusalem: inside and outside!
visit the place which is a home and a center to co-existance between jews, christians and moslems in jerusalem, and then have a coffee or lunch on the terrace that faces the famous king david hotel

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Moshe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
134 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“PROMINENTLY UGLY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Built before WWII this was the highest building in what was the most important street outside the Old City about 1km away. The tower sticking up from a large building housing a hotel,conference centres and a library is opposite the famous 5 star King David Hotel - where in 1947 Jewish Stern Gang blew up the west wing of the then 3 story building used then by the British Officers Club before Palestine became Israel. YMCA tower can still be seen from the Old City but the King David Hotel -now 5 storey as well as other buildings of the New City of Jerusalem make this incongruous tower seem less significant then it must have been originally.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Geomeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İzmir
Level Contributor
107 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“YMCA ,jerusalem ,like in the song”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I was in Jerusalem for Rotary Friendship exchange program last week and the number one was YMCA.Why? The tower is the best place to see all the city. The architecture is beautiful.The meal was delicious.Only the rest rooms were less in number and a long way to find but it is an old historical building so that s reasonable.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AYSESIBEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

...but not over average (have been two times having lunch/dinner there. Food was just good but not outstanding, fish a bit dry.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank finnexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jerusalem International YMCA also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Jerusalem International YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing