We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel and Pleasant Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
National Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #33 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Espanola, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel and Pleasant Staff”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

My grandson and I stayed there for 3 nights in Feb. 2014. Our room was nice and it opened onto a deck. It was pleasant to sit outside on the deck in the afternoon. The food was good and the view from the restaurant on the top floor was superb. My grandson liked it because they had an area in the restaurant for smoking. He ordered up a hookah from the menu and puffed to his heart's delight. The internet connection for hotel guests was not working while we were there but somebody on the staff let me use their computer to send an email. I was pleased with that. I didn't use the fitness center so I can't comment on that.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    251
    75
    16
    33
See reviews for
117
217
94
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

if i had to write one good thing about this hotel, it would be the staff, specially the front desk rep named nirvana, she was super friendly, very helpful and full of excellent information. the location though close to the jaffa gate was not a desirable location. wifi sucks. my grandma moves faster than their internet. for a supposedly "international" hotel, they serve no alcohol due to their muslim beliefs nor do they allow you to bring your own to dinner or restaurant which for a westerner on vacation is an aweful thing. i dont impose my beliefs of not eating meat on fridays as a catholic so if you dont drink alcohol why should i pay for it. the facilities are mediocre and not very clean. the rooms were extremely hot and have no ac and hotel has no fans. I wouldn't stay here ever again or near this area.

Room Tip: avoid this hotel or this area at all cost. not worth the money they charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skyglider78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the National Hotel. The location was fantastic, the staff was super helpful and friendly, and the rooms were fine.

Pros:
Location, 5 minute walk to Harod's Gate, 10 minute drive to the highway for day trips to the Dead Sea.
Staff, super friendly and helpful. They were great with my kids and always helpful with directions and advice.
The rooms were fine, always clean but nothing fancy.
The hotel restaurant offers a very nice breakfast (included with the room) and the dinner menu was very good and not terribly expensive. We ended up eating dinner at the hotel three of the four nights that we stayed there. And, the manager gave my kids free ice cream every night!

Cons:
The beds were SUPER hard. Not very comfy after a long day of walking around the city.
The bathrooms are tiny and a little outdated. However, we always had hot water, so that is actually a plus.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmFam365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed at the National Hotel for 5 nights in February and couldn’t have asked for anything better. The hotel is very close to the Old City in a bustling area where local people go about their daily business (have a look on Google Streetview to get a better idea of the area it is in). The rooms were clean and comfortable and match perfectly with the pictures on the hotel’s website. Every member of staff was kind and helpful at all times. Nirvana on Reception is exceptional - she looked after every single need for us and is a delightful person. The Wifi is now fixed and we had good coverage everywhere in the hotel, including our room.
Highly recommended - we shall definitely return

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic helpful staff, beautiful rooms, amazing breakfast and good location. I would definitely recommend.
Front reception very helpful with information.
My one minor frustration was the poor Internet reception in the rooms but the reception in the lobby was fantastic.
Thanks!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BeautifulLao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Five of us traveled for a birthday celebration on 29th January 2014. Perfect choice for our stay in Jerusalem. Convenient for Old City, light rail, buses. Rooms clean and very presentable. Staff couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was abundant with a personal "omelette" chef! We had one medical incident and another involving personal room arrangement but solutions to these difficulties were sorted out professionally and promptly. We availed ourselves of the extremely efficient, courteous and top class attributes of the reception "angel" that is named Nirvana, who certainly lived up to the 5 star reputation she has earned in other reviews. A delight to converse with such a smart, enlivened, knowledgeable female. There is no doubt that the National will be the 1st choice hotel for the next trip to Jerusalem.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleenNW10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

- The hotel was nice, although when we reached in with lots of carriages and luggages no one from the hotel could help us to unload it.
- The room was sort of like a hostel especially the bed
- Cleanliness is bad when reaching the hidden spots (i.e behind beds, under the bed, top of cabinet)
- Food (bfast, lunch and dinner) were good. Tasteful and many options and varieties of middle eastern cuisine.
- F&B Service needs to improve. (Some of the staff were ignorant, and somewhat rude)
- Front desk agent were very helpful to explain every details about the surroundings and also kindly offer to exchange major currency into US Dollar bills. (As common use that US Dollar is widely accepted around Jerusalem area, other than Shekel).
- The location is near the Al Aqsha Mosque.

Room Tip: Bathroom is descent, at front desk available for currency exchange to US Dollar
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaskoroDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#28 of 99 in Jerusalem
593 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#55 of 99 in Jerusalem
121 reviews
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#53 of 99 in Jerusalem
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nachla'ot
Montefiore Hotel
Montefiore Hotel
#24 of 99 in Jerusalem
446 reviews
Hillel 11
#40 of 99 in Jerusalem
363 reviews
Agripas Boutique Hotel
#39 of 99 in Jerusalem
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Hotel Jerusalem

Property: National Hotel Jerusalem
Address: 4 Zahra | East Jerusalem, Jerusalem 9762900, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — National Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your National Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing