We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
National Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #38 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed at the National hotel for 3 nights and had a great experience. The staff are fantastic, particularly the front desk.

The rooms are a good size, clean and modern. The only fault i could find is that there are no electric sockets next to the mirror.

The hotel is in the Arab quarter, and as 2 females, it was perfectly safe. The road is quiet so never an issue getting a good nights sleep.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anisha1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
There are newer reviews for National Hotel Jerusalem
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 674 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Traveling in Jerusalem can be a bit overwhelming but this place takes all the mystery out. Unbelievable service, super helpful to tourists not familiar with the area, great location, nice rooms priced right, great breakfast included!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unionpark19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very welcoming reception staff on arrival, A modern hotel with comfortable clean rooms. Slightly out of town, in maybe not the best area, but a comfortable walk to the old town. Breakfast was excellent. We had an excellent stay and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellerfromuk45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We only stayed there two nights in a double-bed room, to sight-see in Jerusalem. For that purpose it was okay. If we stayed any longer I think we would go crazy. The rooms are tiny and the color of the walls and floor (all white) make it appear very dull looking. The bathroom also has a strange odor to it when we first walked in. And we had to ask for an extra towel, even though there should technically be enough towels for 2 people. The staff is quite friendly however, and the food was good. We played $25/person for the dinner buffet the first night we got there because of being so exhausted from getting through the Border control coming from Jordan to Israel. It is ridiculous to take 8 hours to go thru about 5 miles of checkpoints, but that is another story. The breakfast which was free was very nice. We got to sit on the terrace level where you get a magnificent panoramic view of all of jerusalem. It was probably the most pleasant of the stay, to be taking in a view of Jerusalem while sipping some nice, hot, strong coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asifj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We loved the National. The staff here could not have been more friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean; the Old City under 10 minutes walk away; the top floor restaurant was excellent, and the food was authentic. The front desk team (sorry, I can't remember their names!) were exceptional.

We were on a bit of an adventure - visiting our daughter who is working in the West Bank. The front desk were so very helpful to us in arranging everything, and the General manager also made sure we were OK.. There is no alcohol in the restaurant - but that means the food has to be good, and it is also a haven from the relentless swarm of tourists in the rest of Jerusalem.

I had rather foolishly rented a car at Tel Aviv - and driving in East Jerusalem was quite challenging! At arrival, the street outside the hotel was bustling, and I did wonder if I had made a mistake. But don't be put off by the streets around. There are some terrific shops - and there is a great cafe/bookshop by the Institute Francais, on the way from the Old City to the Hotel, which is a really good place to stop, recuperate, and watch the world go by.
.
We strongly recommend the National and their outstanding, friendly, staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LongdistanceDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at the National hotel in May 2013. 'Nirvana' is the Reception/Front of House Manager. And as commented many times by many reviewers, she is the Jewel in the Crown, that is the National Hotel.Like all star performers, there is a team that supports the whole endeavour.
Hotel is in East Jerusalem, so v few 'bars' to visit in the evening.The shops/cafes, close by around 8pm.So the area becomes quiet, and hence very limited noise to disturb your sleep.If you want to party, go to West Jerusalem.
It is a 10min walk to Herod's Gate, and the Old City.
Breakfast is v good; cereals/breads/pastries/juices/yoghurts/fruits/cold meats/cheese/chef to prepare fresh omlettes.Hotel has 2 desktop computers, free to use.Didn't have a device to check the wi-fi signal.Bedrooms are v comfortable, with TV,good air conditioning,fridge,tea and coffee making facilities.Beds very comfortable, bathroom v good and free toiletries/hairdryer.Free safety box in cabinet.
Advice and support in 'spades', from Nirvana and her front of house staff team.Spoken English by all her team, is commendable.And they are all polyglots.
Would highly recommend the Hotel, and it would be my first choice on any return visit.
Thank you ,thank you, thank you , thank you.
Happy days

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road have no balcony.Rooms facing away from the road, have a balcony overlooking a...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorfolkDrummerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was one of the friendliest hotels ever. Starting at check-in and continuing throughout, the staff made every effort to ensure our stay was a success. Especially Nirvana, who handled any question or request personally through completion, and Ramadan, our driver/tour guide who took us to Bethlehem, Masada and points in between. He made sure we were as close as humanly possible so my husband, who walks with a cane did not overdue.
The area made no difference to us, as we enjoyed being among the masses. The included breakfast buffet was lovely, the fruit was fantastic! However, previous reviews have talked about dark rooms, which is true; I would go elsewhere for dinner, and cleanliness is not 5 stars.
If you are not part of a tour, and want personal service, this is for you. We would go back.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#29 of 101 in Jerusalem
610 reviews
Agripas Boutique Hotel
#44 of 101 in Jerusalem
486 reviews
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#57 of 101 in Jerusalem
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shamai Suites
#36 of 101 in Jerusalem
324 reviews
Hillel 11
#46 of 101 in Jerusalem
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Hotel Jerusalem

Address: Al Zahra Street 4 | East Jerusalem, Jerusalem 9762900, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: $72 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — National Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your National Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing