We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Grateful for great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Hotel Jerusalem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
National Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #27 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Grateful for great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just spent three nights there and cannot be more pleased with the choice. The hotel is located very close to the Old City (5 min walk), has modern and attractive common areas, offers generous complimentary breakfast in a restaurant with panoramic view. My room was comfortable and airy. The staff provides exceptional customer service, and i praise Nirvana, the manager, for making my stay very special. She is a true example of professionalism, competence and kindness. Thanks to her, i saw all main attractions of the Old City in one day, following the marks she made on my map with indication of hours when the places are open. She patiently answered all my questions about directions, distances, public transportation. She made me feel an important and welcome guest. WIth no hesitations, i will book this place for my next visit to Jerusalem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYAnatolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    218
    63
    14
    32
See reviews for
108
186
82
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at the National during an 8 day sight-seeing trip to Israel. The hotel is an oasis of calm in the slightly chaotic streets of East Jerusalem. The location is excellent - only 5 minutes from the Old City walls. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were very good - taken up on the 4th floor with its views. Most notable was the friendliness of the staff, especially Nirvana (the day manager?) - she was delightful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaggyQuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed at the National Hotel from the 11-14 April 2013 and was so impressed! The hotel has recently been updated with new furniture etc. The best part was the service and kindness of the staff! They go above and beyond to make the guest ( and I brought my cat) feel welcome and comfortable. The breakfasts were great and the food (room service) were tasty and well presented. There is free parking. Aside from the above, the hotel is situated in a great location~ 5 minutes walk to the Old City and 1 min walk to Saleh El Deen Street!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel located in very good place 10 min walk from old town. The rooms are clean but not cosy , very simple mostly with 3 beds . In some room has a russian tv what is useful for turists from Russia .
Meal in restaurant is good big portions. Staff very friendly . Manager Nirvana best person in this hotel !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venzone, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed at this hotel about three weeks ago, there was no pool and the rooms were dirty.

When I asked for the room to be cleaned it actually took them half the day to come and clean and when it was cleaned they did a bad job.

will not return to this "guest house"!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank devonef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel is very nice - clean and comfortable rooms. It was apparently renovated within the last few years, hence looks quite new. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Great location close to Old Jerusalem, near the Damascus gate. Extremely friendly staff. Would definitely recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Pros:
Satisfactory lobby and the front desk person was nice

Cons:
Do not trust this hotel
Made reservation online, got confirmation and they didn't have a room
Area of hotel is extremely sketchy - I was scared
When they didn't have a room, they walked me down a scary ally to another hotel, very awkward
Breakfast at hotel was completely tasteless
Manager said he was going to give me a refund and he ignored my emails / calls - very rude style
Location of hotel is not convenient to see Jerusalem

STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: I travel 60 - 90 nights a year and don't remember ever being scared like I was here. Stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sinasohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#20 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Shamai Suites
#23 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#15 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 stars 1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hillel 11
#34 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Givat Ram
Prima Park Hotel Jerusalem
Prima Park Hotel Jerusalem
#22 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 stars 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Hotel Jerusalem

Property: National Hotel Jerusalem
Address: 4 Zahra | East Jerusalem, Jerusalem 9762900, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — National Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your National Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing