We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grateful for great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
National Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #41 of 102 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just spent three nights there and cannot be more pleased with the choice. The hotel is located very close to the Old City (5 min walk), has modern and attractive common areas, offers generous complimentary breakfast in a restaurant with panoramic view. My room was comfortable and airy. The staff provides exceptional customer service, and i praise Nirvana, the manager, for making my stay very special. She is a true example of professionalism, competence and kindness. Thanks to her, i saw all main attractions of the Old City in one day, following the marks she made on my map with indication of hours when the places are open. She patiently answered all my questions about directions, distances, public transportation. She made me feel an important and welcome guest. WIth no hesitations, i will book this place for my next visit to Jerusalem.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYAnatolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (681)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 681 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at the National during an 8 day sight-seeing trip to Israel. The hotel is an oasis of calm in the slightly chaotic streets of East Jerusalem. The location is excellent - only 5 minutes from the Old City walls. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were very good - taken up on the 4th floor with its views. Most notable was the friendliness of the staff, especially Nirvana (the day manager?) - she was delightful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaggyQuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed at the National Hotel from the 11-14 April 2013 and was so impressed! The hotel has recently been updated with new furniture etc. The best part was the service and kindness of the staff! They go above and beyond to make the guest ( and I brought my cat) feel welcome and comfortable. The breakfasts were great and the food (room service) were tasty and well presented. There is free parking. Aside from the above, the hotel is situated in a great location~ 5 minutes walk to the Old City and 1 min walk to Saleh El Deen Street!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel located in very good place 10 min walk from old town. The rooms are clean but not cosy , very simple mostly with 3 beds . In some room has a russian tv what is useful for turists from Russia .
Meal in restaurant is good big portions. Staff very friendly . Manager Nirvana best person in this hotel !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed at this hotel about three weeks ago, there was no pool and the rooms were dirty.

When I asked for the room to be cleaned it actually took them half the day to come and clean and when it was cleaned they did a bad job.

will not return to this "guest house"!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank devonef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel is very nice - clean and comfortable rooms. It was apparently renovated within the last few years, hence looks quite new. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Great location close to Old Jerusalem, near the Damascus gate. Extremely friendly staff. Would definitely recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RonFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Pros:
Satisfactory lobby and the front desk person was nice

Cons:
Do not trust this hotel
Made reservation online, got confirmation and they didn't have a room
Area of hotel is extremely sketchy - I was scared
When they didn't have a room, they walked me down a scary ally to another hotel, very awkward
Breakfast at hotel was completely tasteless
Manager said he was going to give me a refund and he ignored my emails / calls - very rude style
Location of hotel is not convenient to see Jerusalem

STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: I travel 60 - 90 nights a year and don't remember ever being scared like I was here. Stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sinasohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#27 of 102 in Jerusalem
619 reviews
Shamai Suites
#38 of 102 in Jerusalem
325 reviews
Agripas Boutique Hotel
#45 of 102 in Jerusalem
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#59 of 102 in Jerusalem
196 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#61 of 102 in Jerusalem
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Hotel Jerusalem

Address: Al Zahra Street 4 | East Jerusalem, Jerusalem 9762900, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 102 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range: $74 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — National Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your National Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing