We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One 5-star staff member, but 3-star in other respects”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
National Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #34 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Copenhagen
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One 5-star staff member, but 3-star in other respects”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Nirvana at the front desk delivered a 5-star service. She is truly exceptional in the hospitality industry.

The rest of the hotel is not 4-star, more like 3-star at best. Wifi signal in the room was so weak as to be unusable. Decor was quite worn, esp in the bathroom. State of cleanliness not impressive, i.e. dusty surfaces. Other staff were pleasant enough but I experienced more than once that a member of staff on front desk would serve other customers in the midst of attending to me. Pretty poor neighbourhood.

All in all, and in spite of Nirvana, not a hotel I can recommend at the price I paid ($135/night).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keyite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    251
    76
    17
    33
See reviews for
119
217
94
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed in the National Hotel for five nights. In general a nice hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. The location could not have been better!! Walking distance to the Herod's gate, very convenient. The rooms are quite comfortable and clean. Wifi connection is not very strong. In the room, I could only connect somewhere near the shower!! :-) Fortunately, I was not in the rush to check my email or load photos of the day. However, if you stay here and you want to 'stay connected' you may want to double check this. ;-) In the restaurant on the 4th floor the service can be slow specially in the evenings. Three out of the five nights we stayed there we had to go back to the reception desk to reactivate our magnetic cards for the rooms. The staff were very efficient and prompt to solve the problem immediately, which is fine, but it was an inconvenience to go back to the reception when all you want to do is to lay down after a long walking day! ;-) All in all a nice hotel with very friendly staff!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Good hotel worthy of 4 star rating. Situated in the chaotic Arab quarter but seemed safe and a short walk to the old city through Herods gate. Rooms clean and modern, reasonably priced restaurant on 4thfloor.
A special mention to the staff who are simply exceptional: efficient at check in despite a large group turning up just before us, friendly throughout, immensely helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I found my whole experience of the National Hotel as wonderful. My room was clean, large and airy. The breakfast on the terrace was most enjoyable, the food delicious.The distance to the Old City was a 5 minute walk. The staff, especially Nirvarna, were extremely helpful in every way. The hotel is is in the middle of a vibrant community, as a lone female traveller I felt perfectly safe. I would highly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ann n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The service staffs, especially the front desk manager - Nirvana, are excellent! They have been very helpful and warmth in servicing your every needs which makes your stay almost like home. Located within walking distance from Herod's Gate, the hotel is a great base for you to see the old and new city.

- Benjamin Chan

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Benjaminchan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
508 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

If your here for a night the hotel is fine. If your staying on business and require actual normal hotel services this may not be the place for you. My room was rarely cleaned and when I brought it to managements attention, all I received were smiles. Everyone loves to smile here and that is lovely but there is little substance behind the smile. The lady who manages during the day Nirvana does try as she possibly can but one person can not do it all. Do not go here during any kind of festival or it is just a nightmare. Stay in the Western or Northern area toward German COlony (quiet) or up North by the bars and shopping (loud.)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I am not a fussy traveler but I was very disappointed in my experience at the National Hotel. It is certainly not a 4 star hotel. I would give it about a 2 +. It was extremely basic, bordering on spartan. The rooms are not carpeted. The bathroom was so small, it was hard to turn around. The furnishings are very basic. The carpeting in the hallway was very dirty. It is about a 4 block walk to the arab quarter in the old city. do not pay 4 star prices if you stay here! There is no fitness center. Value for money? I don't think so.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any good rooms at the National Hotel. Because they were cleaning rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jane n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#28 of 99 in Jerusalem
597 reviews
Agripas Boutique Hotel
#41 of 99 in Jerusalem
471 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#58 of 99 in Jerusalem
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nachla'ot
Montefiore Hotel
Montefiore Hotel
#26 of 99 in Jerusalem
453 reviews
Hillel 11
#42 of 99 in Jerusalem
369 reviews
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#55 of 99 in Jerusalem
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Hotel Jerusalem

Property: National Hotel Jerusalem
Address: Al Zahra Street 4 | East Jerusalem, Jerusalem 9762900, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — National Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your National Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing