We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
National Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #36 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly, helpful Staff”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We arrived at Tel Aviv Airport from London on a very early flight after haggling with a a Sherut taxi driver at 6.00am over what should have been a standard fare beacause he didn't have enough passengers to fill his van (Shared taxi should cost 60 shekels to Jerusalem from Tel Aviv Airport). When we arrived at the National Hotel we were greeted by Ms Nirvana who was very friendly and welcoming and very kindly gave us a drink and a complimentary early check in which was just what we needed. All the staff were nice and friendly from the owners, general manager, waiters and of course Ms Nirvana on reception who has been mentioned many times before who is one of a kind very helpful and full of energy…and the gentlemen who was on night reception whose name begins with B…(just like me to forget) whom deserves a mention. The room was adequate except no kettle but maybe we could have asked for one because the staff supplied an iron when asked for. If I had any complaint it was the room was cold at times especially the bathroom although the staff tried to resolve this whenever we brought it to their attention …maybe it was just me feeling cold. Oh and the bed was somewhat hard for my liking but there were lots of pillows.

Breakfast which was included was more than adequate with fresh eggs being cooked as you desired.

As highlighted by previous reviewers the area is in the Arab district and the streets and buildings do look somewhat run down compared to other areas in Jerusalem but it does give access to lots of small shops – bakeries, food and small grocery shops and even an English bookshop which served hot drinks and we never felt unsafe or had any problems in the locality.

From the hotel it only took about 5 minutes to walk to Herods Gate in the Old City but most of the time we walked to Damascus Gate (8-10 mins) or Jaffa Gate (15-20 mins) where more was happening. The new tramline (6.60 shekels a journey) doesn’t go to Herod Gate but does stop around Damascus Gate but there are buses (6.60 shekels a journey same cost as the tram) near the Hotel.

Overall we had a wonderful time in Jerusalem and the staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor not too far from a lfit and had no problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mookiechops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    256
    78
    17
    36
See reviews for
124
221
95
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I really can't say enough about the service at this hotel. For the price, you will be getting the quality of service usually only given at hotels twice the price. In particular, the people that run the front desk, the hotel manager and the breakfast room guys really make the hotel special.

the hotel itself is very clean, modern, and offers a substantial breakfast. You get a pancake/omlette station, cheese and cold-cuts, breads, fresh fruits, fresh juice, and various dried foods and nuts. Really outstanding.

The location of the hotel is a bit hard to describe if you have never travelled to the middle east. In terms of site-seeing, it is a 5 minute walk to the walls of the old city, and 10 minutes max to the Damascus gate. At no time did the neighborhood feel unsafe, but it definitely does shut down at about 7pm. In comparison to the chic and clean parts of west jerusalem, the area around this hotel definitely feel run-down, dirty and with lots of trash on the streets. There are a lot of shwarma/falafel places, but no where really for a sit down dinner. however, the shop keepers in the area are helpful, nice and don't try to rip you off.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to everybody and without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narberth, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This is a beautifully run hotel, with tasteful decor, comfortable rooms, and helpful staff. Breakfast was very nice, with many less common choices (figs, dates, nuts, variety of breads and rolls). There was a plate of fresh fruit and a bottle of water waiting for me in my room, which I enjoyed. And the wifi actually worked (!). The hotel is in walking distance to the Old City...you will walk through a bustling Arab neighborhood shopping district. I found this interesting and a nice counterpoint to my other Jerusalem experiences. However, this is not a neighborhood for restaurants or nightlife, so be prepared to walk a lot, or take cabs to other parts of the city. To avoid this necessity, I ate in the hotel's restaurant, which was fine, though the menu was surprisingly American (pizza, oriental chicken salad, pasta). The lamb kabob and the pita bread were very good. Unlike another reviewer, I did not notice any unusual amount of noise, day or night. The neighborhood mostly closes down after around 8 PM.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wordgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I would like to start off by clarifying that this hotel had the best service I have ever experienced at a hotel. They gladly helped us with several different questions, bookings, recommendations. We were also impressed when the taxis they called for us charged the exact same prices as our friend who lives in Jerusalem said they should be. It is about a 5-10 minute walk into the walls of the old city. Rooms were not luxurious, but they were up-to-date, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast had a wide variety (including meats, breads, cheeses, cereal, fresh fruit, nuts, and an omlette/pancake station). Coffee was pretty good.

Some people don't recommend the location, but even as a woman, I felt safe. We even walked home on New Year's Eve at 2am and we did not feel uncomfortable. While I believe it would be perfectly safe for children, that might be the only reason I wouldn't recommend the neighborhood the hotel is in. No, the neighborhood is not as glitzy as West Jerusalem, but the people are nice and there are plenty of falafel/schwarma places near the hotel. Again, the service at this hotel made a great hotel into a wondreful hotel. I would most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelteacher84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adliswil, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

The hotel service is great; specifically front desk (their manager is fantastic) are very helpful. The breakfast is reasonable. The room get a lot of noise from the outside; fortunately there is not much noise after 10 PM so it does not affect much your sleep (don't even consider it if you plan to sleep during the day). The area around does not look great however is safe to walk and easy to reach the old city.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I stayed here for three nights in total and cannot emphasize just how good the staff were. They were extremely helpful and friendly, they are a real merit to the hotel. They seem to remember every guests name and provide a very personal service.
The breakfast is amazing, much better than even 5 star hotels. The rooms are nice and clean, there is a small gym, free wifi in the bedrooms, and computers that you can use free of charge in the business centre. The hotel is no more than 10 minutes walking distance to the Old City.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tang_a_tang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I'm stay in Jerusalem for the third time, but my first time in National Hotel. The location is very good for pilgrimage, because is near to the gates of Old City. For those who think drinking alcohol drink, FORGET, because the hotel is in muslim district, where it is prohibited the sale. Special thanks for the staff!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#27 of 101 in Jerusalem
603 reviews
Agripas Boutique Hotel
#43 of 101 in Jerusalem
476 reviews
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#56 of 101 in Jerusalem
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hillel 11
#44 of 101 in Jerusalem
372 reviews
Nachla'ot
Montefiore Hotel
Montefiore Hotel
#23 of 101 in Jerusalem
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Hotel Jerusalem

Property: National Hotel Jerusalem
Address: Al Zahra Street 4 | East Jerusalem, Jerusalem 9762900, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — National Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your National Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing