We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Petra Hotel & Hostel
Reviewed October 30, 2008

When you like a bit of adventure and crazyness, and love to meet jewish, christian and atheistic people to agree or to disagree with, but always in a respectful way, and want to feel home in Jerusalem, go to the Petra Hostel. This is not just a hostel, but an experience, and when you have an open mind, you will have a marvellous time here, for a good prize with lots of freedom.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank B009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 160 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2008

I thought about staying at this hotel after reading the reviews from other travelers. However, I was terribly disappointed... the staff (at least during the late shift) was unfriendly, the single room I stayed in was extremely overpriced (about 40USD), truly a disaster, no heater (Jerusalem is cold in winter), the bed seemed dirty, the floor was disgusting (i wouldn't be surprised to find a dead rat under the bed, honestly), no towels, the bathroom was unusable... I decided not to take a shower there... I just couldn't. Therefore, I was extremely angry and disappointed. The only reason I stayed is so I could leave my luggage while I found another hotel. I ended up staying at the Imperial Hotel, which is a few doors closer to Jaffa Gate. I recommend this hotel: for the exact same price, I got a heated room, a somewhat decent bathroom, friendlier staff, free internet and a lot more cleanliness.
This review on the Petra Hotel is based on a single room I stayed in... I don't know how the dorms are, but the hotel is quite dirty in general and I do not recommend it at all. Good luck... and the view everyone speaks about, it's nice, but it's not to die for.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank samtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2006

I enjoyed my stay quite a lot. Very friendly atmosphere. Met other guests from all over the world and had very good contacts - spiritual family.
The building could use some maintenance, but it also ads to the special atmosphere.
Location is very strategic: within Old city, close to Jaffa Gate and walking distance to City Center.
Price is quite reasonable. (on roof 25 NIS
Found a good combination with using excellent meals and not too expensive at The Heritage (ChristChurch) - just opposite Petra. I paid for breakfast: 25 NIS

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Gerard_KB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Juneau, Alaska
214
Reviewed June 5, 2006

The Petra Hostel, located at the Jaffa Gate of the Old City in Jerusalem, was a real experience and a pleasure. It is claimed that the Petra Hostel is the oldest continually-operating hotel in Jerusalem, and past guests included Mark Twain and Theodore Roosevelt. Maybe. The hostel itself was built in the 1800s by the Russian Orthodox Church and first served to house military guards or officers. The building itself dominates one side of the plaza in front of the Citadel; each room has a balcony, and the view from the roof is legendary. The staff is quite friendly and helpful. The guests may include Russian Pilgrims, British ex-pats, various backpackers, Russian ex-pats, and folks who believe they are the messiah and thus belong in Jerusalem. The rooms are spartan but atmospheric. The price is very good, and there is internet (10 NIS per hour) and brews and soft drinks in the cooler. There are dorm rooms, private rooms or you can sleep on the roof. The entrance is right at the b eginning of Souk and you will get bombarded on your way in and out. I felt pretty secure there although I'd assess the situation for yourself and use the safe if you'd like. Two down sides: street-facing rooms are very noisy at night, and there is, of course, no air conditioning. But there's plenty of hot water. The desk will arrange a collective taxi to Ben Gurion airport for 55 NIS per person. I also arranged a cab to Bethlehem, I was offered a tour into the Palestinian Authority folr 200 dollars, you can negotiate down to 250 NIS.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Besser ein anderes Hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurdiya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Antonella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#54 of 101 in Jerusalem
312 reviews
ג 'ראח
Mount of Olives Hotel
Mount of Olives Hotel
#77 of 101 in Jerusalem
110 reviews
Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
#82 of 101 in Jerusalem
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Post Hostel
#4 of 71 in Jerusalem
265 reviews
Rob's Hostel
#40 of 71 in Jerusalem
10 reviews
Muslim Quarter
Chain Gate Hostel
Chain Gate Hostel
#38 of 71 in Jerusalem
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Hotel & Hostel

Address: Jaffa Gate 1, David, Jerusalem 9534710, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range: $38 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petra Hostel is a large and remarkable hostel that is located directly inside Jaffa Gate, offering a prime location. We have wide range of options, we have deluxe and super deluxe and simple rooms, for every kind of budget. The hostel has four floors. The roof of the hostel also offers additional rooms, as well as the option to rent a mattress or tent on the roof itself and sleep under the Jerusalem stars. It is a simple yet quite large hostel, considering it is inside the Old City. Each floor is has of a large common area, which includes several seating areas, a communal kitchen and fridge, and a TV (shared) as well as a common library where you can select different books and a dining table. Our hotel is reachable by taxi and car (right up to the front door)Much has changed since the Petra Hostel's conception in the early 1830's. But the wonderful ambiance, clean and beautiful well priced rooms, and the most beautiful views in Jerusalem of the old city have remained and continue to be a 180 year constant. With such famous budget travelers such as; Herman Melville, Mark Twain and General Allenby- Petra Hostel's reputation is as poetic and as mystical as the Holy Land itself A common kitchen can be used for cooking is available, as well as laundry service, an airport shuttle service, internet service, and amazing roof Most of the rooms are ensuite with private bathroom. Common bathrooms are also available. The atmosphere is home-like. There are stained glass windows and light fixtures.The outstanding feature of this hostel is its view. Because of its prime location, every window in the hostel has a stunning view of either the wall of the Old City and the street below, or the rooftops of the Old City. Seemingly every room opens onto a balcony. The best area, by far, is the roof, where there are separate rooms with an incredible panoramic view of the entire Old City as well as the Mount of Olives, Mount Scopus, etc. Every landmark is visible!Free breakfast now available for everyone staying in the hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Petra Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petra Hotel Jerusalem
Petra Hotel And Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing