We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Petra Hotel & Hostel
Reviewed November 5, 2012

... the odor of urine from the bathroom next to my room was rather strong and in general the place was not clean. The owner was friendly and helpful, and the place has tremendous history, so it's a shame it's not presented as the jewel it could be. The views are great, both from the roof or if you happen to get a room with a balcony overlooking Jaffa Gate and the plaza. Nevertheless, the lack of cleanliness really spoiled the experience for me.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogueSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 158 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

This place is really gross, the shower is in the same room as the toilet without any curtain dividing it, not enough water is coming out of it, to get cleaned, but still the whole bathroom will be under water afterwards. The rooms are in a bad condition - the door of the room I stayed in was broken and wouldn't close. If it is loud outside, you will hear it! I woke up having flea bites on my body. The staff is friendly, but not helpful with any special requests you might have. Only good thing is the view from the rooftop.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hank_Lasseules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great location, friendly staff. Hotel owner unknowledgeable of transportation services in the area. The hotel booked a bus to take me to the airport for my flight home. Instead of telling me to be at the bus stop at a specific time. The owner engaged me in conversation and told me not to worry about the bus pickup, he had it "under his control" Needless to say, I missed the bus and had to take an $80 taxi ride to the airport, as not to miss my flight. The breakfast in the morning was terrible. However the rooms were clean

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lori l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Mattresses are too thin, no water pressure from shower, rooms are shady. The only good thing is location and the great view from the roof.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cd13jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This is without doubt the worst place I have ever stayed in. The rooms are dirty, draughty (not funny in Jerusalem during the winter months) and in generally terrible repair. The bathroom 'facilities' barely function (the shower in the room I had seemed to operate with the sole purpose of drenching the electric light) and if you are fortunate enough to have a bath don't get too excited as it will not be large enough to bathe a dog in. The corridor outside the room was a deathtrap as it flooded when it rained, laundry costs were extortionate and where the breakfast was served still remains a mystery to me. The rates charged are way too much (actually any charge in this place is too much) and the staff are lazy, incompetent and lie......when they say they respect you and will deal with your issues immediately don't believe a word of it and then you won't be disappointed. Better still just don't step over the threshold of this pitiful place. I for one would be extremely happy to see it closed down for good. Please don't go!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Most of the negative reviews are probably warrented, rooms look povo & theres no welcome mat but in our case the stars aligned, not only did we get the best room but we pestered them for a good discount too.

Room 7 had a balcony facing the King David Citadel a mere arm's length away & is down the road from the visitor info centre. Air con, hot water, 68 cm tv & only a few ants. Walls & windows are thin so bring ur ear plugs or drink plenty of wine before u sleep. The free WiFi is fast in the reception area but dodgy in our room but we were able to leech off another from our balcony. Armed Israeli police & soldiers offer good security, they loiter across the road at night to conduct random searches making it a very interesting people-watching position from the balcony.

Located in the Christian Quarter within sight of Jaffa Gate in the Old City. Its handy being close to the Church of the Holy Sepulture, Wailing Wall, al-Aqsa Mosque & Dome on the Rock. If you can get up early enough you can be all alone in the place of Jesus's execution & humiliation without all the pilgrams linning up for a look.

This budget hotel is more suited to backpackers, pilgrams & cheapos as it skimps out on most hotel services, cleanliness & amenities, rather, being a place to sleep & check your Facebook. Laundry is 50 Shekels/5 kilos & a very humble breakfast is free. Tents can be pitched on the roof. Dorms can be negotiated for personal occupancy some have private bathrooms.

Proximity is wat u pay for, being within walking distance of Jesus's neighbourhood is good incentive to stay here as a pilgram. There are no midrange lodgings in the old city so look at staying in East Jerusalem if ur easily worried.

Room Tip: Get the balcony rooms & negotiate for private occupancy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Pale_Ridah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We arrived in Jerusalem without reservation, late and tired, so, we decided to stay in this hostel, as the best choices around was fully booked. Terrible mistake: the hostel is the oldest in Jerusalem, but doesn't mean the hostel has to be filthy and stinky, with one of the worst toilets I've seen it in my life. And they really shouldn't say that the breakfast is included: breakfast consists in pita bread, jam and water. There is a balcony facing the jaffa gate, what was good, but one window glass was broken, and, for my surprise, when I came at night, one cat was in my bed, sleeping lol.
Good points? Location, in Jaffa Gate, old city. Wireless internet included in the price and good air conditioning.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodrigofazmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#55 of 101 in Jerusalem
310 reviews
ג 'ראח
Mount of Olives Hotel
Mount of Olives Hotel
#77 of 101 in Jerusalem
110 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#42 of 101 in Jerusalem
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rob's Hostel
#42 of 71 in Jerusalem
9 reviews
The Post Hostel
#5 of 71 in Jerusalem
252 reviews
Muslim Quarter
Chain Gate Hostel
Chain Gate Hostel
#34 of 71 in Jerusalem
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Hotel & Hostel

Address: Jaffa Gate 1, David, Jerusalem 9534710, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range: $25 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petra Hostel is a large and remarkable hostel that is located directly inside Jaffa Gate, offering a prime location. We have wide range of options, we have deluxe and super deluxe and simple rooms, for every kind of budget. The hostel has four floors. The roof of the hostel also offers additional rooms, as well as the option to rent a mattress or tent on the roof itself and sleep under the Jerusalem stars. It is a simple yet quite large hostel, considering it is inside the Old City. Each floor is has of a large common area, which includes several seating areas, a communal kitchen and fridge, and a TV (shared) as well as a common library where you can select different books and a dining table. Our hotel is reachable by taxi and car (right up to the front door)Much has changed since the Petra Hostel's conception in the early 1830's. But the wonderful ambiance, clean and beautiful well priced rooms, and the most beautiful views in Jerusalem of the old city have remained and continue to be a 180 year constant. With such famous budget travelers such as; Herman Melville, Mark Twain and General Allenby- Petra Hostel's reputation is as poetic and as mystical as the Holy Land itself A common kitchen can be used for cooking is available, as well as laundry service, an airport shuttle service, internet service, and amazing roof Most of the rooms are ensuite with private bathroom. Common bathrooms are also available. The atmosphere is home-like. There are stained glass windows and light fixtures.The outstanding feature of this hostel is its view. Because of its prime location, every window in the hostel has a stunning view of either the wall of the Old City and the street below, or the rooftops of the Old City. Seemingly every room opens onto a balcony. The best area, by far, is the roof, where there are separate rooms with an incredible panoramic view of the entire Old City as well as the Mount of Olives, Mount Scopus, etc. Every landmark is visible!Free breakfast now available for everyone staying in the hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Petra Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petra Hotel Jerusalem
Petra Hotel And Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing