We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting, but...”
Review of Ramparts Walk

Ramparts Walk
Book In Advance
More Info
$91.79*
and up
Private Tour: Western Wall Tunnel and Old City Wall Promenade in Jerusalem
Ranked #27 of 308 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bavaria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Interesting, but...”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

...only 3 Stars. Why?
We made the long section between the Jaffa Gate and the Lions Gate. There are many interesting views across the old- and new town and many chances to take photos from interesting perspectives. The walk itself is not boring as there are many steps up and down and the way is winding along the top of the wall. Not exausting, though.
The issue we had were two teenagers who bothered us at the very remote southern section of the wall as the fencing of the walk is not sufficient in this area. As the weather was rainy that day we were pretty alone in that section...and felt definitely not safe in this situation. Nothing bad happened but we were happy beeing back in the more busy part of the old town.
Without that issue the walk would be a "5-star" recommendation.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BavariaFred159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    111
    46
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Givat Olga
Level Contributor
156 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“It's not walk,it's hiking”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I like doing ramparts walk and try not to miss this oppotunity while travelling. But contrary to the leisure walks that I made till now, this one is rather rough and long. Stairs are high and stones are sharp, so comfortable shoes only. And don't forget Israeli sun - no shadow at all, so it can be problematic in the summer.So consider before if you have enough time and strength. I think if you hesitate, better walk the streets, not walls.
But the views are extraordinary! I'll surely do it again...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Do it!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Ramparts Walk is just amazing—the views are exceptional, and offer a window into the Old City that is unique.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElleF63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I liked this!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We walked this in January and it was quite hot up there so I don't know if I can recommend it for the warmer months.

Still, it was nice to see the old city from a different angle and especially the parts we did not get to see from the ground. Go if you have time (about 2 hours). It's pretty cool.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank NB_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
545 reviews
348 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
“A bird's eye view of history”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Walking the ramparts is a great way to get to know the walls and gates of the Old City.

Entrance is from inside the Jaffa Gate, where you buy your ticket from the small office and tickets are valid over two/three days, allowing you to do the walk gradually. While you can descend at any of the gates, it is only possible to ascend at two gates .

The walk itself is in two sections: Jaffa Gate north to St. Stephen's Gate and Jaffa Gate south to Dung Gate.

The walls are high and thick and so are some of the steps. I would not try this on a cold or rainy day -- the steps could be slippery.

The walk is definitely rewarding and will give you interesting views across the Old City and also outside of it. I did get a much better sense of the Old City's layout after the walk and plan to do it again on my next visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Roshni2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ramparts Walk also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Ramparts Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing