We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view, new perspective and enjoyable walk!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramparts Walk

Ramparts Walk
Book In Advance
More Info
$91.79*
and up
Private Tour: Western Wall Tunnel and Old City Wall Promenade in Jerusalem
Ranked #28 of 301 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, new perspective and enjoyable walk!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We truly enjoyed this walk and while we had been to Israel a few times we never knew of this walk until a friend told us. The Rampart walk is a great way to get one of a kind views of Jerusalem and the Old City. The walls were first built in the 16th century and are at times challenging with steep steps and stairs. If you are a good walker you will have no issues here, very young children or those who have trouble with stairs should stay away. There are two ways to enter the walk. I suggest you take the one that is a little harder to find but takes you from Jaffa Gate to Zion Gate and lets you off near Dung Gate. From there you walk down the street/hill and you are very close to the Kotel (Western Wall) and the Jewish Quarter. There is a small entrance fee. Make sure you ask where to find the one that takes you to Zion Gate as we almost started on the other one as it is easier to find. Bring good walking shoes, sun block and water as once you start there is no getting off unless you back track. There is a bathroom before you pay so I suggest a stop there and bring a water bottle, The walk will give you lots of great views and is fun and interesting to see this old military fortress walkway. I have read on line where they say this is dangerous with out of control kids and people trying to sell tours. Do not listen to this and read other reviews as this is an enjoyable walk and experience and something a little different to do.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    102
    43
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pass on it unless you want to pass time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

I would recommend the ramparts walk under three conditions: 1) It is a cool Jerusalem evening; 2) You have seen all else there is to see; 3) The walk is free. Unfortunately, none of these is true - the ramparts walk closes around 5 PM; you will probably not run out of things to see in Jerusalem in 1-2 weeks; and not only is the ramparts walk not free, you do not get to see anything new from the ramparts that you will not have already seen from the Tower of David or the bell tower of the Church of the Redeemer. Finally, ramaparts walk is not for the acrophobic.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NAKNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Ga
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding views of Jerusalem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

The Ramparts Walk provides views of Jerusalem that you won’t see anywhere else. In the interest of time we opted to do a 'self guided' Ramparts Walk so we could stop and take photographs whenever we wanted. If this is your only trip to Jerusalem, I would recommend having a guide to explain what you are seeing and share facts about the history. Just so you know, some of the steps are very steep and the walkways are narrow but it is totally worth it!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MKTravels5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful early morning walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

A memorable walk with intimate views of the old city and the new city outside the wall. It was beautiful in the early morning when the sun was not too hot, the nuns were putting out their laundry, the children were playing in school, shops opening up. Not for the acrophobic. Beware that the stones on the ramparts are well trodden which makes them slippery, and they are uneven as well making them a bit difficult to navigate even in sturdy sandals, but the handrails are helpful. I didn't expect to be the only one up there, but it is inaccessible unless you have a ticket. Jaffa Gate to Damascus Gate is a manageable walk for the reasonably fit middle-aged traveler.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarita53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
215 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great vantage point, watch your footing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Lots of stairs up & down plus uneven footing, but if you don't mind that it's a terrific vantage point to view this ancient & wonderful city. Note: If you leave the ramparts near one of the gates, you can't get back in.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ekejdono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ramparts Walk also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Ramparts Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing