We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kaplan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$391
$380
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montefiore Hotel(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
$164
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Yehuda(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
$191
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dan Jerusalem Hotel(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
$220
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$790
$595
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$660
$595
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
National Hotel Jerusalem(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
$115
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Jerusalem(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
$191
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$272
$259
Atlas.co.il
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Sephardic House(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
$190
$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveler rating
58
65
24
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
65
24
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget hotelhelpful ownerjaffa streetgreat locationrooms are basic but cleanold citysmall kitchenhotel is situatedbars and restaurantsfriday afternoontram linelight railsix nightswalking distancemahane yehuda marketvisit jerusalemheart of jerusalem
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 159 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We've stayed here for 2 nights, but we regret we didn't find this hotel earlier. This hotel has everything what low-budget travellers need, who just want a good and nice place to sleep situated at a good location. This is not a "classic" backpacker hotel, with a crowdy central lobby.

The rooms are small, but clean, including the bathroom. Our room had airconditioning, cable television on flat screen and had a very small balcony. Who needs a large room anyway, when doing sightseeing all day? The old city of Jerusalem is only a 10 minutes walk, from the hotel. The owner is very friendly and helpfull. The hotel is situated at Havatzelet, just arround the corner from Jaffa Road. There is no breakfast service, but some very good Israelian breakfast is available at different bread- and coffee shops at Ben Jehuda Street and Jaffa Road. The coffee at the hotel is for free.

The location of the hotel is just outside the old town of Jerusalem. Just folow Jaffa Road and you'll end up at the Jaffa Gate. After a sightseeing day it is nice to relax in the neighborhood of the hotel. Less tourists, good places to eat and drink (happy hours for beer), near Zion Sqaure and Ben Jehudastreet.

Nearby the hotel, several busses will stop and they will bring you to the different parts of Jerusalem, including to the central bus station for busses to other destinations like the Death Sea. Shuttle service will stop near by several times a day (and night) to bring you to Tel Aviv or Ben Gurion Airport.

This hotel is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jasper0031026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting from Jordan. After a somewhat harrowing journey across the Allenby Bridge checkpoint (be prepared for a lot of waiting and a lot of hassle) we booked in over the phone whilst enjoying cold beers at café Rimon's in the Muslim Quarter of the old city (FYI - cheapest and best beer in the old city, great food, a lovely owner and a great people watching spot).

The owner of the Kaplan, Eli, is possibly the friendliest hotelier we have ever met and made us feel very welcome (and safe). We got a great rate, far cheaper than anywhere else we tried for the same standard of accommodation. Eli also gave us free wifi access which was really helpful. However, as you might expect for the low price, the rooms were definitely 'no frills' and a tad grubby (consider bringing your own towels and pillow cases!). But it was safe and totally doable for a few nights..

The hotel is in a good location within the New City (a Jewish area) and only a 10 minute walk to Damascus gate in the old city. It is close to all the New City shops, bars and restaurants, so great for accessing the Jerusalem nightlife (which mainly consisted of very young and rowdy American-sounding youths, so not the best for the older connoisseur but there are definitely places to go e.g a couple of Irish pubs with outdoor seating).

If you plan to be out all day and night (which is probably why you have come to Jerusalem!) then this hotel is a bargain option, but you wouldn't really want to spend time hanging out at the hotel as the room was very small, not the cleanest and there were no communal seating areas elsewhere in the hotel (as far as we could tell). The biggest bonus for us (having spent considerable time in the middle east) was the water pressure in the shower, which was really high and the water really hot. The only downside was that the bathroom was a wet room so the floor and room got completely soaked (bring flip flops!). The sink was also strangely designed so that it was impossible to use it without getting water everywhere! A squeegee mop was provided for clean ups, but it was a little grim having a damp, grubby bathroom to use. The outside noise was not a huge problem for one of us that wears ear plugs, but the aforementioned rowdy teenagers did party into the wee hours so this could be a problem if you like an early night. We also overheard a fascinating conversation from the room next-door - the walls are pretty thin.

With all that said, we would definitely consider staying at the Kaplan again as with a bit of smart packing (a towel, pillowcase, ear plugs and flip-flops), it is most definitely doable and we just couldn't get a better rate for such a good location.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Penny_Trayner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

staying here was an absolute pleasure. the hotel is situated in the center of Jerusalem. the rooms are clean and the owner was particularly nice. i woukd recommend this hotel to anyone visiting jerusalem.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malkiw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

I'm just ending a wonderful five day adventure in Jerusalem, and the Kaplan Hotel been a major reason my wife and I have enjoyed ourselves so much. First, it is in a great location on Jaffa Street at Zion Square. Across the street is Ben Yehuda avenue, a pedestrian street with shops, restaurants, night spots, grocery stores, cafes within two minutes. Jaffa gate to the Old City is a leisurely ten minute stroll. Ditto the Mamilla Mall. In addition to the great location, the price is right. We paid $70 US a night, a very good rate for expensive Jerusalem. The room was clean and neat with ensuite bathroom, plenty of hot water, and TV with more stations than you will have time to look at. Also of importance to us was the free WIFI, which gave us internet access in our room. We could also make use of the small kitchen to keep groceries and to cook up light meals, usually breakfast. Finally, the owner, Natan, was a warm hearted host and soon a friend. We would return to the Kaplan hotel again if we can ever come back to Jerusalem. We highly recommend it.

Tricia and Harvey Kail

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank harvey035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Upon arrival, one of the owners welcomed us in the little shared kitchen and gave us different hints on the sightseeing in Jerusalem.
Both the owners are kind and willing to help you in whatever thing you might need. Eli also offered us a beer, which we did appreciate!
This is a very cheap hotel, and basically what you get is sort of what you pay for. Rooms are indeed small, with a very basic furnishing and let’s say the cleaning of the rooms leaves a bit to be desired. Bathroom deserves a separate mention. It is a very small bathroom, with a tiny basin where even washing one’s hands become a challenging operation. Shower and WC are almost the same thing, therefore you could enjoy one and the other at the same time.
Bathroom was cleaned upon arrival. Water is hot and fresh towels were on our beds when we checked in.
Location of the Kaplan is very close to the Old City: a 10 minutes walk leads you to the Jaffa gate. Neighbourhood is a bit noisy during night-time, although we were so knackered I barely heard the alarm in the morning.
Breakfast is not available, but tea and coffee are complimentary in the shared kitchen. PC with free internet access is at the disposal of guest, with no charge.

If you are looking for a no-frills and low cost option, then Kaplan will do.
If you might feel uncomfortable with the above given description of the rooms, then go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cris75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews