We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively part of Jerusalem but no sound insulation”
Review of Kaplan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kaplan Hotel
Ranked #59 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lively part of Jerusalem but no sound insulation”
Reviewed March 21, 2011

It's very conveniently located: about a 7-10 minute walk to the Old City, right on Jaffa Street with pedestrian malls and about 7-10 minutes from Mahane Yehuda. But there is very little between you and the outside. Most of the week this is probably fine except for Saturday night and one other night that I can't remember. There was drumming until around 3am.

In February, it gets a bit cold in Jerusalem at night, maybe around the 40s so the lack of heat makes it pretty uncomfortable. Despite the lack of heat, several big mosquitos did quite well in the room. The only thick blankets were of questionable cleanliness. The toilet did not flush well. We did not sleep well. Natan is a nice guy.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ella626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    57
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
22
43
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wirralisrael
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

This is a small hotel situated off the busy Jaffa Road & across from Ben Yehuda Street. A great location but can be noisy at night. It is a basic hotel as reflected in the price, but clean with basic amenities. Eli, one of the owners, made our stay so enjoyable. He offered good advice as to where and when to go to places and was very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble and we were very grateful for the bottles of cold water he suppied free, daily as the temp was in the 90's and also the use of his kitchen. He is earnestly trying to get the noise levels around the hotel reduced by contacting the local council and we hope he succeeds. To see old fashioned hospitality at its best, visit the Kaplan Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank israelwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We stayed in the Hotel Kaplan for two nights for exploring Jerusalem and this hotel is perfect. The location is about 15 minutes walking from the New gate entrance to the Old City and a bit more to the Jaffa gate.
I would definetely prefer this hotel over accomodation in the Old City since it is just minutes away from the nightlife of Jerusalem. That makes the hotel a bit noisy, but if you are into some pub crawling after your sightseein, this is perfect.
The rooms are nothing fancy, but clean and okay for the price.
The owner can be reached via Tel: +97226254591 or natan_taig@yahoo.com.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

We stayed for 5 nights and were very pleased. Our host Eli was welcoming and very helpful. He let us use his kitchen and refrigerator. Kitchen was small but very cosy. Eli always kept fresh veggies there for everyone. He taught me how to make good turkish coffee and even went to the supermarket and bought me good brand to take home. We had a triple room with a balcony. Beds were relatively small but comfortable, especially after walking for 10 hours every day. The only thing that took some getting used to and could potentially surprise our fellow Americans was tiny bathroom with shower but no basin, so water was all over the floor. Apparently this is not uncommon in Europe.
The main advantage of this hotel is location. it stands on the quiet side street off Yaffo road near the intersection with Ben Yehuda (area filled with restaurants, cafes, etc.,) On the other hand it is only 7 min walk from the the entrance to the old city via Jaffa Gates

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zhenia65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

p.s. the hotel photo of this hotel seen on the internet is NOT the Kaplan Hotel. The "lobby," hallway, kitchen area (if you want to use it), rooms all reek of recent, current and stale tobacco use. Guests are allowed to smoke in their rooms. It stinks everywhere. If you stay on one side of the hallway expect a really loud party from the young neighbors in the facing building if your timing is unlucky. If your timing is fine and the neighbors aren't having a party til 2 a.m, you CAN expect to hear pigeons just above your room flapping loudly from around 5 a.m., and soon they'll begin making pigeon moaning sounds til sunrise. If you stay on the other side of the hallway (the same side as the office) you will have to endure the loud music from the ice cream joint across the street every night til midnight (except on Friday night, as that's shabbot). BRING YOUR OWN GAS MASK if you have kids, are middle aged or older, don't like secondary and stale smoke everywhere and if you have even a hint of asthma.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frank_peanuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

We spent hours looking for the perfect budget hotel/hostel in the perfect location for a family trip including parents and siblings and spouses. The Kaplan is smack bang nr Zion sq, great for shopping, for eating out for drinking and for a short walk to the Old City. We booked 3 rooms in advance and the wonderful owners kept in contact with us, made sure our late arrival wasn't a problem and made us feel very welcome for our stay. Tea / coffee/ fee Internet......exactly what we wanted. They helped us research into the next part of our trip too. Best of the bunch!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hantonlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2009

This hotel is more like a dorm if you will. The beds are dorm like and the romms have no carpeting on the floors. That said, it is still a worthwhile budget-conscious traveler's option. We had a spacious romm which actually had three beds for us two travelers. Our particular room had a rather dismal view of the back courtyard which, like in the rest of Israel is filled with stray cats. One of these cats turned out to be a rat, but I felt quite secure hovering three stories above the offensive scoundrel. The proprietors are extremely nice and very helpful. The location can't be beat. The hotel is just a stone's through from Jaffa Road and Bed Yehuda pedestrian mall. It is just a short walk from the old city and Mahane Yeduda (the market).

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AllenbyPhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Palatin Hotel
#57 of 101 in Jerusalem
125 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#27 of 101 in Jerusalem
601 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#58 of 101 in Jerusalem
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
#79 of 101 in Jerusalem
163 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#35 of 101 in Jerusalem
658 reviews
Shamai Suites
#33 of 101 in Jerusalem
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaplan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaplan Hotel

Property: Kaplan Hotel
Address: 1 Havatzelet St, Jerusalem 94224, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaplan Hotel is the best choice for low-budget travelers. Located right in the center of Jerusalem on Jaffa street, just off Ben-Yehuda st., right across Zion square, and near the new train station. Its location is ideal for shopping, grabbing a bite to eat or having a coffee. It's a 10 minute walk to the old city, to mahane yehuda market, and most central tourist attractions. All our rooms are equipped with air conditioning, free cable TV, and free Wi-Fi. Guests are welcome to use the hotel's kitchen, as well as have a free cup of tea or coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kaplan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaplan Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing