We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From our experience - don't go there for lunch”

Hamiznon - kitchen station
Ranked #120 of 727 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, French, Italian, Japanese, Israeli
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“From our experience - don't go there for lunch”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had heard really good things about this restaurant, and thought it was also suitable for one person in our party who was vegan, but we were disappointed, because they only had salads for her and not one cooked dish. The service was poor, first courses and soups were not brought at the same time (until we reminded them that we were still waiting for the soup), and the waitresses were nice but not very professional/effiicent. We had to ask for things all the time, we didn't get enough napkins, there wasn't enough cuttlery, etc. At dessert time, coffee arrived well before the desserts, Apparantly at dinner time things work a little better.
In winter time DO NOT SIT OUTSIDE, its freezing, even with the heaters they offer. And in general, the food was OK, but we were really not impressed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natania I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    58
    24
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“silly”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

There are only 2 kosher restaurants in the renovated "First Station" complex in Jerusalem; both are inadequate. Both are also vegetarian. (+ fish). The Kitchen Station has a very retro design concept - food being served in brown paper bags, tuna cans, bottles, cardboard boxes etc. This can seem a bit cute until you actually try to eat anything. They are totally non-functional. Food slides off the convex platters, you have no surface on which to eat the rather good fried fish in the fish and chips presentation. i guess you are supposed to eat the filets with your fingers. The menu is very catchy, but the results are very mediocre. The service is quite bad. Simply not a serious restaurant, or a comfortable cafe. Too bad. I've been here for brunch, lunch and dinner and was not impressed. They also do not answer the phone, so I'm not sure if they take reservations.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreenJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Going back 100 years.................”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

At the First Station in Jerusalem ,recently recently renovated,is this adorable restaurant.
The walls have been left "unpainted" and it fells just like 1900.
However the food is fresh and tasty and the waitresses are very helpful.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A real treasure for foodies!”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Wow. What a delightful surprise! The food at this kosher dairy restaurant in the "tachana rishona" is so good that I ate there 4 times in 2 weeks! Once for breakfast, once for lunch, once for dinner and once for a late night snack! My husband, who is a total food snob, LOVED it! There wasn't anything we ordered that wasn't delicious! The wait staff is very well trained and the ambience is very cool. Just as advertised, it brings back the feeling of the original train station of 100 years ago, but with 2013 food and amenities. Highlights were the Palestina salad and the apple pie a la mode

Good for couples, family, friends, etc. I went there with each of the above

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QuelliPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“restaurant in the Station Jerusalem”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Hamiznon Kitchen is a nice place to have lunch during your visit to the new Station in Jerusalem. Atractions are for good weather.

Helpful?
Thank Suzette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamiznon - kitchen station also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Hamiznon - kitchen station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing