We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place - been here many times” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caffit, Botanical Gardens

Caffit, Botanical Gardens
Ranked #11 of 23 Coffee & Tea in Jerusalem
Cuisines: Israeli, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
NYC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Love this place - been here many times”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

First off, agree that the service is lousy. However, the place is beautiful - right in the Botanical Gardens overlooking the lily pond, so if it takes a bit longer for the staff to come around, at least you have a great view to look at.

Prices are reasonable, portions are great. Our fave is the sweet potato salad, shaved strips of "patata" on a great salad. Fruit shakes and pastas are also excellent.

And the parking is plentiful (a rarity in Jerusalem)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveMNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    22
    15
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The most beautiful setting....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Breakfast outside by the lake on a sunny Jerusalem morning....we sat there for two glorious hours. Good food and decent service - the only flaw was having to shoo away the bird who was as interested in the warm bread as we were!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“All this and nature too.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

I was looking for a quite place to relax and catch up with a friend. Somewhere quiet with easy parking and decent food. Lo and behold, there is such a place. Caffit is situated in the botanical gardens, right off the lake. Although it was a bit cool we ate outdoors and just enjoyed the surroundings. My friend had a tomato soup which he claims was one of the best he has had . I had halumi cheese dish which was also excellent. In general the portions are very generous and the food really tasty . No one bothers you. and if you want to linger for 20 minutes over your coffee go right ahead.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elib_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
125 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Came here with a visitor from abroad. I'd had mixed recommendations from friends, but decided to go there for breakfast. We didn't want a full breakfast, so ordered the 'coffee and pastry' option, which is common in restaurants in Israel. My visitor asked for the cheese filling, but the waitress said she wasn't sure that they had any and went to check. She came back and said that they'd no croissants at all. i.e the coffee and pastry option was a non-option - and this at 8:30 in the morning. Not exactly the time for these kinds of things to run out. So we went for a small sandwich option. My visitor asked for one with an avocado filling - once again - not available, and this at a time when avocados are plentiful in Israel. When I said that I was most disappointed, the waitress seemed completely unfazed. The restaurant was not busy (now I realise why) however this didn't stop another waitress offering my change to the wrong table, and then standing looking lost in the middle of the restaurant. Maybe we were just unlucky, but there are so many good places to eat in Jerusalem, why take the chance? My visitor was not impressed - the first time we made a bad choice in two weeks. Give it a miss...

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nablus, null, Palestine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“26 year aliyah anniversary + brithday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very much enjoyed our second visit to this restaurant food is really good also the surroundings (botanic garden) and the atmosphere at this place. Only the serving of the team is slow but that's because they haven't enough waitresses!!! for the amount of people that visit this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grietje Janneke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffit, Botanical Gardens also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Caffit, Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing