We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“26 year aliyah anniversary + brithday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caffit, Botanical Gardens

Caffit, Botanical Gardens
Ranked #11 of 23 Coffee & Tea in Jerusalem
Cuisines: Israeli, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nablus, null, Palestine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“26 year aliyah anniversary + brithday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very much enjoyed our second visit to this restaurant food is really good also the surroundings (botanic garden) and the atmosphere at this place. Only the serving of the team is slow but that's because they haven't enough waitresses!!! for the amount of people that visit this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grietje Janneke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    22
    15
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, but overfull and slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We visited this restaurant in the evening with quite a large group. This, of course, requires special skills and capacity of kitchen and service.
The water we were served was lukewarm, the starters were good but took a long time to arrive. Salmon on skewers was tasty, and so was the bread, which only came halfway the starters.
The icecream that accompanied the desert was half-melted (it was a very hot evening) and we did not wait for the coffee, so some of us did not get any, although ordered.

Tasty but unprofessional organization and service!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RuthRosenthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beer for dessert”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Reserved a table for six for lunch after a hot, sweaty day in Jerusalem in August. Got to the restaurant on time, were told that there were no seats inside, only outside on the terrace (90 degree heat). After checking again, they let us in to sit at our reserved table. There were about 50 diners and maybe 6-8 waiters. All of our efforts to get the attention of a waiter were unsuccessful. We waited 15 minutes before any waiter came to our table. We saw that every table but ours had a pitcher of cold water, and we requested same. Took another ten minutes. I ordered a cold beer, which didn't come before the meal, or during the meal, but was finally served to me, after several reminders to our "waiter", with our ice cream dessert. How I wished to have had that cold beer when we arrived, hot and sweaty and tired. Beer doesn't really go with ice cream, and I couldn't finish it.
The food was so-so, the prices exorbitant for a family, luncheon restaurant. The portions were huge, but the food I ordered -Halumi cheese, mushrooms, in a wine sauce over "crispy" onions was soggy, way too oily, too salty, and sweet !!?. Not a gourmet combo, to be sure.
I undertipped the waiter (first time in my life) and really wanted to leave him a note about his careless service, but decided the tip was enough of a statement. The whole experience was a dissappointment, as we'd eaten here before, under the former management, and the experience was just fine. This restaurant lacks a manager who attend to his patrons and keeps the waiters out on the floor, not gatherered, shmoozing around the bar.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawkeye-490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyc
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice location, awful service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The food was ok, but the service was so bad! We sat looking at our eaten-from plates for over half an hour. There to celebrate, we canceled our special dessert order out of frustration. All the staff were standing around, laughing with each other, but ignoring guests. Manager became waiter... Hostess walked the floor with a drink to her mouth! We suggest a coffee or drink, and don't expect any attention....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mmnnbbvv123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A real get away in the City !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

the food is good but the atmosphere is even better !
I recommend this a place you want to spend some special time with someone.
also near a fabulous nursery so it is enjoyable to walk around either before or after the meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DRubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffit, Botanical Gardens also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Caffit, Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing