We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Lacking”

La Regence - Kosher Fine Dining Restaurant
Ranked #169 of 727 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Grill, Fusion
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
712 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
“Service Lacking”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We found the service lacking so much so that we sat for extended periods of time waiting for drinks, for our order to be taken, to be served, it was our least favorite dining experience of our trip. It was convenient for us as we stayed at the King David which is top notch unlike the hotel service the restaurant's service almost non-existent. The wine list is not stellar, we had the sweetbreads and artichoke flan to start, the fish of the day which was good, not great, yet the organic chicken which was delicious, we opted out of desert as felt would have taken too long to order and get served. It is a nice restaurant, good option if in the area and if not for the service might of rated it better.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mi-Dan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    14
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Meyreuil, France
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Kosher Haute Cuisine”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The restaurant of the King David is on a lower floor of the hotel. I dined here three times and found everything exquisite. Without doubt I ate the best pot-au-feu of my life. The chef kindly paid me a visit to thank me. La Regence is a top class restaurant on every level and the staff as gracious as the food was delicious.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeBaileyCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed at the King David and opted to eat here. We were suprised by how good the food was. My husband had lamb chops and wanted them medium rare. Our waitress said they are only done medium well but would be pink and she was correct. I had the marlin and it was delicious too. For dessert, I had the carmelized apples called the pink lady and it was superb. Service was good and although it was a kosher restaurant as we are not, it was a very enjoyable meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suzeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best tasting menu”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

we ate before a week the tasting menu and it was amazing, we have ate in a lot of gourmet restaurants around the globe but this was one of the best.Dudu the chef have a wonderfull hand for cooking and understanding food even if its kosher,without any " games" just fresh excellent food!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kobi52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, New York, United States
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

This place was really wow. Tonight I got the tasting menu, and it was 13 courses and truly amazing. Each course was another treat, with gastronomical oddities like tomato fruit leather, liver powder, beet sorbet, and other weird things. But they weren't just weird, they were delicious. Truly an outstanding meal in Israel, as of now my number one. Furthermore, it was pretty reasonable for a tasting menu, at 340 per person plus tip. Also, water and soda seemed to have been part of the tasting menu!! Very upper class and very worth it

Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Regence - Kosher Fine Dining Restaurant also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to La Regence - Kosher Fine Dining Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing