We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our hummus prayers were answered”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hummus Ben Sira

Hummus Ben Sira
Ranked #18 of 698 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Our hummus prayers were answered”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

After a long flight from the USA and a taxi ride from TLV, we arrived at our hotel tired and hungry. We explored the area and found this little gem.

We grabbed a couple of menus and a table. We both ordered the chickpea hummus plate. Soon, we had 2 big bowls of hummus topped with warm chickpeas, loaves of pita, a bowl of sliced pickles, and a bowl of onion and tomato chunks.

The hummus was the best we had ever eaten, and the pita was soft and perfect for sopping up every last bit of what was in the bowls. We loved it so much that we went back for more the next night. I got mine topped with fava beans, and it was great, too!

Dinner for two--a filling and healthy dinner at that--including a soft drink and a beer for less than NIS80... What more could a weary traveler (or local) ask for?

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bucsonice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    71
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“World's Best Hummus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

This place has the best hummus in the world, hands down. Go there and order a plate of hummus and prepare to have all your prior notions of hummus changed forever.

Note about ordering, it's best to get a plate of hummus because it comes with pitas, falafel, and salad on the side.

I don't like mushrooms, but I ordered hummus with mushrooms and beef...it blew my mind. It was amazing. This is a place where the hummus is the main dish and the meat in the hummus only amplifies the garlic and other greatness in the hummus.

Well priced and worth a trip!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best hummus I've ever had.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

I came to Jerusalem on three separate occassions, and loved Ben Sira every time. It's relaxed, not expensive, and literally the best hummus I've ever tasted in this galaxy.

Helpful?
Thank andrei_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
“best humos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

just the best humos in jerusalem. its not so expencive. good service and location. not only humos for lunch

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank galberlinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, New York, United States
Level Contributor
118 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“BEST CHUMMUS IN THE EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Wow. This place is so simple, yet so extraordinary. Of the only non gourmet places that I've truly enjoyed. By far the best hummus I've had, and I've been told it's only rivaled by the town of abu gosh. Best hummus, best falafel, and when fresh, best pita (I think they get it from next door)

Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hummus Ben Sira also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Hummus Ben Sira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing