We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent home-made food with lousy service”
Review of Hamotzi

Hamotzi
Ranked #150 of 726 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Decent home-made food with lousy service”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Restaurant owner and Israeli "Master Chef" winner cooks North African style home made food.
while food is not bad, service is lousy, slow, and not high on this restaurant's priority list.
Restaurant's slogan must be - "Ignore the customers and they will return" and for some odd
reason, restaurant was quite full.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoolTravelGuyIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    75
    31
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Good food, worth the visit when in Jerusalem”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Being human, of course we were curious to visit the restaurant belonging to last years winner of Master Chef.
We made a special trip with friends to see the Mahne Yehuda market and eat at Hamotzi.
We arrived before the time we ordered and the really fiendly staff seated us and even found a different spot for us since we wanted to change places
Ordering was fast and easy, the waitress was really nice and patient.
The food was served really quick and when I told the waitress that the amount of meat in my dish was small she brought me additional portion, no extra charge,
We ordered thelamb, special of the da, and fish Algerian style.
Both were fantastic!!!
Tasty, spicy but not super hot.
The small tapas salads served before the main dish are delicious.
Actually not over expensive
So, bottom line, well worth the visit

Helpful?
1 Thank Danny_il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“above all great and tasty food”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

but also, great service (we had to wait longer for out table, but we were served with wine, so we didn't mind...). Authentic Jerusalem atmosphere in the restaurant and the surroundings without being "touristic".
And again, very tasty - so order more smaller dishes, and share...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yuvalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“don't bother...”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

the concept of customer service doesn't exist in this place - i ordered in a place for two at the bar area couple of days in advance. unfortunately, when we got there we were told that all the places around the bar are taken, and there were no alternatives. it was a very cold night and since the place was overcrowded we couldn't even wait inside. the hostess wasn't helpful at all so eventually we had to leave without eating. needless to say that we were very disappoinred since we intended to celebrate my wife's b-day at that evening. the attitude was definitely not customer friendly, and for that alone they don't deserve to have me back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Assaf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant. Very tasty food and great service.”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Very recommended. Very yeasty food and very good service. The atmosphere is very authentic.
We came in accidentally and enjoys it very much.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank avivmo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamotzi also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Hamotzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing