We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touching the Biblical Past”

Temple Mount Sifting Project
Ranked #72 of 304 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: An unique archaeological project that allows visitors to participate in the sifting of debris that was excavated in the Temple Mount. UPDATE: The sifting is currently not active and will resume in 2018.
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Touching the Biblical Past”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have been the wonderful beneficiary of being allowed to work on this project of 7 years as a volunteer worker. My very first day at the site I uncovered a ring that was over 1000 years old not to mention the myriad of of there treasures that found their way into my sifting buckets.
I truly love having he opportunity to touch the objects that we find, many of which are from the time from the Temple and and subsequent empires.
As a gentile, I would never have been allowed to access or touch items from the Holy Temple and now I can literally find and caress these objects.
I can't recommend this experience enough for anyone who loves history, Loves the Bible, or wants to have an easily accessible 'archeology' experience. The teaching is excellent and the emotional rewards tremendous. Try it - You'll like it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    13
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ma'ale Adumim
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the most meaningful experiences we've had in Jerusalem”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We went with the whole family this past summer (kids ages 4 - 9), and it was a memorable experience for us all. This was a chance to get a hands-on lesson in the painstaking work that archaeologists do to find and analyze historical treasures. And even more meaningfully to us, it allowed us to see how archeological science is being applied to the most sacred site in Judaism, the Temple Mount. And on top of all that, we got to be a small part of this amazing project, and all had a fantastic time sifting through and identifying the ancient remains of Jewish civilization and tradition. I would definitely recommend this for anyone who wants to connect to the history and tradition of Jerusalem and the Jewish people.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamir D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenia, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience of archaeology”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I spent a whole day (Wed 15 Aug 2012) at the sifting site as a volunteer helping the archaeologists dry sift soil from the Temple Mount to prepare buckets for tourists and wet sift looking for glass, metal, wood, pottery, bone, coins, etc. I lived in Israel 1958-1963 and have returned 5 times but never before been able to participate in archaeology. I would recommend this for any tourist or resident, adult or child, Jewish or Christian: you are touching artifacts which are thousands of years old of importance to the Bible.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KarlRansome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go and visit”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

very good initiativ and effort from archeologist to bring history back to us.
the history of temple mount is very interesting and fascinating history

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank CatherineR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great chance to expirience archaeological work in a short time”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had an excellent time at the Temple Mount Sifting Project. The introduction lecture was fascinating, and then the sifting itself was a great experience. You never know what will come up in your bucket. We found shards from ancient cooking pots from the First temple period, and a Crusader coin.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zachi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temple Mount Sifting Project also viewed

 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Temple Mount Sifting Project? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing