We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the most meaningful experiences we've had in Jerusalem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Temple Mount Sifting Project

Temple Mount Sifting Project
Ranked #69 of 301 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An unique archaeological project that allows visitors to participate in the sifting of debris that was excavated in the Temple Mount.
Ma'ale Adumim
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the most meaningful experiences we've had in Jerusalem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We went with the whole family this past summer (kids ages 4 - 9), and it was a memorable experience for us all. This was a chance to get a hands-on lesson in the painstaking work that archaeologists do to find and analyze historical treasures. And even more meaningfully to us, it allowed us to see how archeological science is being applied to the most sacred site in Judaism, the Temple Mount. And on top of all that, we got to be a small part of this amazing project, and all had a fantastic time sifting through and identifying the ancient remains of Jewish civilization and tradition. I would definitely recommend this for anyone who wants to connect to the history and tradition of Jerusalem and the Jewish people.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamir D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    13
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Xenia, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience of archaeology”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I spent a whole day (Wed 15 Aug 2012) at the sifting site as a volunteer helping the archaeologists dry sift soil from the Temple Mount to prepare buckets for tourists and wet sift looking for glass, metal, wood, pottery, bone, coins, etc. I lived in Israel 1958-1963 and have returned 5 times but never before been able to participate in archaeology. I would recommend this for any tourist or resident, adult or child, Jewish or Christian: you are touching artifacts which are thousands of years old of importance to the Bible.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KarlRansome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go and visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

very good initiativ and effort from archeologist to bring history back to us.
the history of temple mount is very interesting and fascinating history

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank CatherineR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great chance to expirience archaeological work in a short time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had an excellent time at the Temple Mount Sifting Project. The introduction lecture was fascinating, and then the sifting itself was a great experience. You never know what will come up in your bucket. We found shards from ancient cooking pots from the First temple period, and a Crusader coin.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zachi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, DE
Level Contributor
179 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Sifting the Jerusalem detrius makes giddy kids of us all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Would you believe we found rings, small and large mosiacs, and our neighbor actually found a Roman coin? I found this tough to take, but it's the REAL deal. The pile of muddy detrius is from the Temple Mount and legit. The anticipation of genuine archiological finds makes kids of us all and we jump up and down with childish delight. The sessions start with a short lecture followed by buckets full of mud and a screening process outside but under cover. Its the muddy screening process that is suited to discoverers of all ages. A great few hour experience within view, but just outside of the old city walls. A great family adventure at reasonable cost. Take a cab to the site.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank steveplotkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temple Mount Sifting Project also viewed

 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Temple Mount Sifting Project? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing