We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best food ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spoons

Spoons
Ranked #146 of 636 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Price range: $100 - $250
Cuisines: Kosher, Mediterranean, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Description: A private "salon" and dining experience in historic yemin moshe area. Our new season is May through to end of December
Highland Park, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best food ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

One of the best meals we have ever had. And it's Kosher! Hila, chef & owner, sets the stage for a convivial atmosphere that ensures a dining experience like no other. This is not just a restaurant, it is also her home, making for a truly unique and intimate setting. Hila caters to groups of 6 up to about groups of 30. I don't believe there is a website but for more information or to reserve (in advance) contact Hila at spoons@netvision.net.il

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank fern217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    3
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, spectacular setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was the best meal we had in Israel. The setting is a beautiful community of restored ancient homes of Jerusalem stone. We had delicious hors d'oeuvres on the terrace while gazing at the illuminated walls of the Old City. The inside was beautifully furnished; we were having dinner in an elegant private home, with a warm & most gracious hostess: Hila Solomon. The food was absolutely delicious; everything fresh from the market. It was continental cuisine with the subtle flavors of the Middle East; a true gourmet experience. The carefully chosen Israeli wine was excellent. The fragrance of jasmin from the back garden contributed to the sensual pleasures of the evening.
All in all, it was an extraordinary experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Djnnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This night had everything. A history lesson about yemin moshe and its surrounds, superb food and atmosphere and a gracious hostess. What a wonderful experience that should not be missed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best Kept Secret in Israel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This private restaurant is the best restaurant I have ever had the pleasure of eating in. Kosher or not. I had the pleasure of hosting a business dinner at Spoons. The atmosphere, the food, the staff were impeccable. Hila Solomon the hostess and chef provides an atmosphere which is welcoming, relaxing and memorable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jacky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had dinner with Hila on a Friday night after coming back from the Kotel. Our group all agreed that this was an experience like no other. The food, the setting and the hospitality were all unparalleled. If you have the opportunity you should definitely eat at Spoons. It is an experience you won't soon forget.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JEBOAKMONT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spoons also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Spoons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing