We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Jerusalem
from $11.50
More Info
from $16.00
More Info
from $160.00
More Info
from $7.00
More Info
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveler rating
65
35
6
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
65
35
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews visiting hours holy places domes nuns olives mount
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 110 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2017

The Orthodox Church of Saint Mary Magdalena is only opened to visitors on Tuesday and Thursday from 10-12 unless you have made prior arrangements. If the door is closed and you are here during these hours ring the buzzer to the left.

The church grounds are pretty and there is a nice view.

There is a sign that reads no photos are allowed inside of the church.

Date of experience: April 2017
2  Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2017

The church of the holy Mary Magdalena is on the lower slopes of the Mount of Olives, you can see it in the distance of you look in the Eastern direction from the Temple Mount. We took a taxi to the top of the Mount of Olives and walked down. We could join a bus tour group of Orthodox Christians and got to see a peek inside as well. Worth it!

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Hermes_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2017

We made a special pilgrimage to the church which is only open for a few hours each week so you'll need to plan ahead! The church is absolutely magnificant with brightly shining golden domes beneath a deep blue sky. The interior is full of wonderful Russian Icons and you can purchase candles if you wish to pray! At the ground level is a small souvenir store with religious items such as olive-wood crosses as well as books on the Russian Churches in Israel.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank CyberSecureDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2017

I was with a group of Russian friends when we visited so, although I am not Russian orthodox, we were able to visit (note: it is open to others only Tuesday and Thursday mornings)
The Church of Mary Magdalene, which we could see while atop the Mount of Olives, was built by Tsar Alexander III in the traditional Russian style (replete with seven gilded, golden domes that sparkle in the sun). Its exterior is absolutely stunning.
The interior is home to a beautiful, tranquil garden and the church is filled with paintings and gorgeous Orthodox icons.
In the crypt lay the remains of the Grand Duchess Elizabeth (killed in the Russian revolution of 1917) and Princess Alice of Greece (who harbored Jews during the Nazi occupation of Greece).
Definitely worth a visit if time permits.

Date of experience: October 2016
2  Thank denver60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2017

the place is a church for the greek orthodox so if you are not one of them it is harder to get in. tuesday noon it is open for everyone but usually it is not easy for non orthodox.
i got lucky to visit with a group from cyprus so we could go inside easily and we had a lovely conversation with one of the young nuns the use to be a journalist in russia before she decided to change her "career". interesting story is the almost all the european royal dynasties has something to do with this place... read about it.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank itamarbendavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews