We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see in Jerusalem”
Review of Jewish Quarter

Jewish Quarter
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.00*
and up
Jerusalem Daily Half Day Tour from Herzliya
Ranked #14 of 308 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Following two devastating wars and 20 years of enemy occupation, the Jewish Quarter of Old Jerusalem was reconstructed with great attention to harmonious architectural detail. The highlight of the quarter is the excavation of the Cardo, the ancient Roman market street.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A must see in Jerusalem”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Experience the feel of the old and the new in one square kilometer. It is the ancient site of the holiest Jewish prayer place and is the site for some magnificent views of Jerusalem.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank asa764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    868
    343
    76
    16
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
103 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Heart of Jerusalem”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Cardo is literally the heart of Jerusalem and one of my favorite places to spend time shopping, eating, and watching people for all over the world coming to visit the City of David. Having a guide tell about the pictures, stones, etc. is definitely worth it. I always enjoy seeing Benny Rosen's gallery and his brother's jewelry store. Like an old mall, with lots of variety in the shopping, watch for bargains. Some of the gifts are higher priced but still great shopping.hundreds of years later.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sande57701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“israel an amazing amazing place”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

If you have a faith Israel is a wonderful amazing place, if you do not Israel is a wonderful amazing place. I am scared of heights but this did not deter me walking the wall of old Jerusalem, amazing. Masada again not real ok with heights especially as the cable car taking us up to Masada was all glass including the floor, but what does not kill you makes you stronger and boy was I getting strong. I had to go to Masada, I have wanted to go since I was a child. It was amazing and awe inspiring. I found Israel's great, friendly. Israel safe. I will be returning.
All I will say of Yad Vashem is GO.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank veramit11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
139 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The Jewish Quarter is magical”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Visit the beautiful cobbled streets of the Jewish Quarter and the Cardo. My mother grew up here and had so many beautiful things to tell about this area. There are beautiful synagogues that you don't want to miss and many amazing and magical sights. It's a must to visit when you're in Jerusalem. Don't miss out on the highlight - the Western Wall. I've written a review for that too, so don't miss it. Lots of tips there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lingfield
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This really was a fascinating experience. Be sure to act appropriately and for women to dress modestly with shoulders and knees covered and no cleavage showing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KirstySueLingfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewish Quarter also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Jewish Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing