We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hummus in Jerusalem!”

Tala Hummus and Falafel
Ranked #25 of 729 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Best hummus in Jerusalem!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

This little restaurant was recommended to us by several people... So good we came back a second time! Top class hummus & presentation is excellent. Great value... Highly recommended! Be sure to order the hummus with warm fava beans - yum! Only suggestion I would make is to include wine on your menu...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MPOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    100
    20
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Short changed me + poor food.”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have NO idea where all these good reviews come from as this place certainly isn't anything special . My shwarma was small and nothing to write home about.
My change came back 20 ILS less than it should have been !
No apology was made once I pointed this out.
Stay well clear .

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank neilcharlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eyad K, Owner at Tala Hummus and Falafel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thanks for the writing the reveiw thanks for pointing this out, regarding the Sherma Sandwish more chicken will be added no worries , and for the less change you know mistakes happenned and we are known that we are ownest people and i am telling SORRY for this mistake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent for the budget traveller”
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We struggled ti find good places with a nice vibe, but cheap... We stumbled upon tala hummus by mistake. The best eating experience of jerusalem so far!!! Staff also friendly! Stay away from Basti!!! The other cheap option...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
“Awesome Hummus!!!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I went to Tala Hummus after the #Sandemans free tour and had a really good time - great authentic food, a nice building and really nice indoor design, and the service was great- the owner was serving me and was happy to answer any question I had about Jerusalem and his life in it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 573 helpful votes
“Homey hummus”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Directions: To get to Tala Hummus and Falafel, enter through Jaffa Gate, then take the first left onto the Latin Patriarchate Road, it will be to your left next to Gloria Hotel. Famished after a rigorous morning of wandering, our splinter group chanced upon this small "hole in the wall" in the Christian Quarter. Focusing mainly on local Israeli fare of hummus and falafel, interestingly, the place displays a board illustrating the different ways to eat hummus (and what it says about you); I came out as a #2 on their list. Touche'?

PROS: Location... location... location is its best asset. Easy to find. Excellent value for what you get. A complete combo lunch retails for £4. Ambience is casual and relaxed. Service is also adequate. Great for late breakfast or for a quick, sit-down lunch.

CONS: Quite a small place with a few (4-5) tables, it can accommodate a few groups at a time. A limited but workable menu. It is a straightforward, basic, no-frills place that serves the standard Israeli fare, so don't expect fine haute dining.

Verdict: Homey food -- simple, familiar and old-school (in a good way), like what grandma used to make. Straight-up local comfort food. Nice lunch break while wandering in the Christian Quarter. Recommended. Grade B+.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eternal_Nomad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tala Hummus and Falafel also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Tala Hummus and Falafel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing