We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone downhill”

The Culinary Workshop
Ranked #55 of 716 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Our visit in March 2013 was not as good as previous visits. We ordered a tomato salad, and there were tiny amounts of tomato and a HUGE amount of croutons. It was not good. (See photo of croutons left over after we ate the tomatoes and some of the croutons.) My husband's steak and the accompanying vegetables were very oily and unappealing, and the wine sauce for the steak was far too salty (and we normally like salty). My hamburger was OK, but they served it with pickled cauliflower and other large pickled vegetables on the burger, which would have been impossible to eat since the burger, bun, lettuce, tomatoes and onions were already too big to fit in my mouth. (Actually, I found the burger to be too enormous.) In addition, our main server seemed like she was always in a hurry. Overall, the dinner was too expensive for the low quality of food delivered.

On the upside, our visits 2012 were far better. Also, the atmosphere can be fun much later it the night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna-O-Ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    42
    11
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner, with an OUTSTANDING service, in a super cool atmosphere !”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

WOW ! This is SO COOL.
Food: excellent raw material, cooked in a delicious way !
Service: outstanding. Fun, helpful, elastic, understanding of every of your personal needs and requests. Very accommodating.
Atmosphere: SO COOL. Cool people. Looks fab to eat at the bar as well. For a design point of view: WOW ! You really get that feeling of being in a workshop.

In all: it's GREAT. It's truly a JOY to be there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LucaMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Really great food and nice atmosphere! Inventive menu and even able to accommodate my young children with a delicious dinner! Nice staff. Really enjoyed our dinner!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Trendy place - Great Fusion”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Off the main avenues, located in an old train station complex is the Culinary workshop. Lets start with great stylish decoration. We asked for the high chaired tables after we were chilly in the first tabled seated at. We had the best waitress ever - walking us through the specials, making great recommendations. Open kitchen always add to a restaurant atmosphere . . . among other great orders we had a seasoned mushroom Risotto (flawless)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ItaiRikovitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
95 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great experience!!!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

starting with the restaurant's design, through the atmosphere and the service and of course the FOOD! - everything here is just perfect! the dishes are creative and delicious -
we really recommend this place! it's one of our favorites and we go there when ever we can

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sigsigm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Culinary Workshop also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to The Culinary Workshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing