We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late night treat”
Review of Basher

Basher
Ranked #247 of 726 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Price range: $3 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Late night treat”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Got my wife and sister in law finally to our local resto cheese bar. I may say it is the only one in Jerusalem so far.
It is located in an authentic Cna'ani house, several centuries old. They still operate the rain water well in the cellar. Now the water is removed and it has a trendy loft place for a gang hangout.
We got "the tour" of the place and sat down for a nice dinner.
The three of us, 2 girls and one hungry guy, ordered a fondue and home bread with Asian goat cheese spread. We used a coupon and were served with a smoked salmon and cheese dish
accompanied with some great Shapira fruit beer and red wine.
Well, I can say that we barely were able to finish all the dishes although they looked innocently moderate in size. Everything was very tasty. The mood was great and a local band played smooth jazz.
Great job Basher!
See you next time!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Aleksasha_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    10
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Read me ;)”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My first visit at 'Basher' was a couple years ago when the place just opened. Fell in love immediately with the uniqueness of its mood.
There are dozens of wine types and the cheese dishes are amazing, yes, please do order the gnocchi filled with cheese. The costs are ok and you definitely get the value for your money.
I can never pass the chance for visiting this place every time I'm in Jerusalem.

Strongly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KattyStar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
“Great atmosphere....really chill space”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

this is one of the restaurants I frequently visit in Jerusalem. The atmosphere is great, the people are friendly, and the food is always delicious and refreshing!! Whenever I cannot think of where to go, I go to Basher as my default because I know I will enjoy it.

The restaurant boasts a "wine cave" style room one floor down and the bar area is great whether you are with friends or hanging solo.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shar s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A firm favorite for drinks and food”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Basher is without doubt one of my favourite restaurants in Jerusalem, so I couldn't resist writing another review. It is always high on my list of places to take friends who are visiting Jerusalem and want a real local experience and is also a great place for a fun night out with friends.

While I love their rich cheesy dishes, especially the cheese fondue and baked Camembert, I also live the lighter more summery dishes like the newish Watermelon pizza, which is slices of watermelon with grated cheese, fresh mint and kalamata olives, the combination is incredibly delicious and refreshing. The Tamara salad is also fresh and light mix of vegetables, topped with slightly salty Brinza cheese.

They also have a great wine selection and one of the best house wines in the town. Most places in town charge more for very bad wine!

The atmosphere is always good, day or night. I highly recommend checking it out, if you haven't already!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem District, Israel
1 review
“A special evening at Machane Yehuda market”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

we found a restaurant with a very good atmosphere, nice music, special design. we order cheese and plate, beet ravioli- was excellent, and the classic fondue - just dreamy dish! And of course good wine
Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tal555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basher also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Basher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing