We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cheese but a big mess”
Review of Basher

Basher
Ranked #246 of 728 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Price range: $3 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good cheese but a big mess”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We've been to this place three times. We went first just after it opened a year or so ago. Although six people were "working" and there were only three other customers, no one bothered to welcome us or bring us a menu. When we finally were brought to a table no one ever came back, so we left. We went for a friends birthday and sat in the cellar area. This is an interesting part of the place that they renovated. It has an antique well and wine cellar. For drinks and fun it can be nice, but is a little clausterphobic (like being on a submarine). The third time we went and sat in the main part of the restaurant. Let's just say "cramped" is an understatement. All the tables are high tables and the chairs are stools, so this is not exactly comfortable. The service is a complete disaster, in such a small place it is still almost impossible for find a wait staff who ever wanted to help the customers. The food is decent and very cheesy (as advertised). The fondus is a good portion and nice to split between four people, as is the cheese platter. The stuffed gnoochi is wonderful. However the prices are a turn off. The managers seem to wear jeans and t-shirts as if this is "cool" but it just goes along with the unprofessional wait staff. By contrast the cooks are true professionals and experts, some of whom have trained and worked in France. So the place is a mixed bag. It has good strong beers on tap, and some of the entrees are really worth going back. But the seating is terrible, it is noisy, crowded and the service needs to be sent back to school.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sfrantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    10
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Bad joke restaurant ! Uggly, overprice, unprofessionnal... Impossible to eat . Won't return for sure...”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The cheese fondue was cooked with the wrong cheeses, bitter, it was ridiculously small, served with fruits...for 100 nis !
3 starters we've ordered were cancelled because on more.
No More deserts too exept an ungly chocolate fondue with old cream was served without strawberries because no More strawberries in the fridge!!! We couldn't eat it And we had to beg for them to take it away because Of the old milk smell...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carinekouhana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best intimate place with the best wine and cheese cuisine!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Yesterday evening we went for a winery tour through the taste and stories of the land- being told by the owner, Itamar. First, we waited next to gorgeous an old olive tree tables. Then, went down stairs to the heart of the restaurant, and had one of the best evening we had in years!
The food is diary based only, being made out if the best cheese ever, world wide. Excelent wine collection. Don't save money at this point!!
What can I say, we will defenetly come again!
Ps don't be fooled by its location- old neighborhood. This place is a must see& dine!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Veredgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not only chesse and wine in a great atmosphere”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

A small selection of food, we tasted cheese filled gnocchi and it was very good.
The wine selection is awesome.
Don't miss the tour of the basement with its own private well and the wine cellar.
Just across the street from the market and a great place to drink good wine with friends

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Incredible Atmosphere, great wine selections, fabulous cheese”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

What a treat to conclude Shabbat and head to Basher for wine and cheese. We tried a few wines. Enjoyed Vivo a winery run by some women. Also tried another Petit Verde for the Negev Desert too.The assortment of cheeses served with attractively displayed fruit slices and nuts were a perfect compliment to the wine. We also tried some beer too, all local to Israel. The setting upstairs is very cool almost like a wine cellar with a bar made of olive wood and serving platter for the cheese on an artistic olive wood cut too. Downstairs is cozy. The place was a home with a well and they drained the water from the well and created a few rooms and a wine cellar. The lighting, walls, and ceiling are special. Give this bar a try. The prices may be high as some other reviewers indicated, but the experience is worth it. Besides they clearly invested a lot of energy to set this place up. My complimets to Itamar and Elad and Dovid the owners!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdventurerJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basher also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Basher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing