We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's the Time?”

L. A. Mayer Memorial Museum of Islamic Art
Ranked #68 of 310 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum features nine galleries that focus on the beliefs and art of the Islamic civilization.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
182 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“What's the Time?”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

The museum hosts the famous collection of watches which was stolen about 20 years ago .The pieces were found and returned so today the collection is complete.To visit the whole museum it takes at least two hours.Besides the watch collection you are introduces in the history of Islam which began quite late in the first millenium .Mohamed is the father of Islam and today his religion is spread all over the world.The museum presents you in a perfect chronological order the development of Islam without mentioning any aspect of terrorism related to it.A brief movie introduces you to the history.A full hall with photographs is dedicated to Yemen and the handfull Jews still living there.
All items are explained in Hebrew English and arabic.Benches are provided to rest or to watch the video presentations.
It is forbidden to smoke or eat or talk on mobile or take pictures.
The museum is conveniantly situated in the vecinity of the Presidential House and the Jerusalem Theatre on Palmach str. number 2 , Jerusalem.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kertesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    27
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fine Islamic art and a very nice collection of watches”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

The museoum has a very nice collection of watches with a bonus of thrill story ( it was stollen and then found many years later). the islamic art is considered to be excellent but I'm not an expert give an opinion...
Look at the internet site of the museum to see when it is open for free

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank 0o0o0o0o0o0o0o0o0o0o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

As a Muslim, I was very excited to go and see this museum. I expected some good exhibitions and lovely calligraphy left right and centre, but to my disappointment only saw a few plates and coins from previous Islamic empires, a lot of rugs, and many many pictures of other art or Mosques, not much actual art itself.

You cannot take pictures inside the museum also. However, as a british university student, I was surprised to discover I could receive student discount for entry :D

Student entry was 30 shekels, and adult entry was 40 shekels. From the Old City it cost roughly 30-40 shekels to get to the museum located in the New City, if you are charged anymore than you are being ripped off!

Knowing what I know now, I wish I hadn't wasted my money. The atmosphere was dead and the museum was underwhelming. This is coming from an avid museum fan!

To be fair, a lot of taxi drivers warned us that the museums were rubbish, and after our visit to this museum, we did not bother visiting the Museum of Isreal either.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AyeshaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Steamy Middle East
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good pieces, and well organized”
Reviewed August 27, 2011

If my vague memories of the 'competing' museum on the Temple Mount can be trusted, the L. A. Mayer Museum is by far the best museum of Islamic art in the area.

The ceramic vessels of all periods are especially worth seeing, both as individual artworks and as representative examples. The selection of glassware - mostly pre-Islamic - is also good. From past visits I remember a good collection of metalwork, but it seems that this time many of the pieces weren't on display.

The organization is mainly chronological.

They also have a collection of European watches and related odds and ends, but I don't see what they have to do with the rest of the museum.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Monobasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L. A. Mayer Memorial Museum of Islamic Art also viewed

 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to L. A. Mayer Memorial Museum of Islamic Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing