We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lutheran Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$630
$598
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$307
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mamilla Hotel(Jerusalem)
$492
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$420
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$553
$498
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem(Jerusalem)(Great Value!)
$137
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$230
$218
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$562
$521
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveler rating
91
105
24
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
105
24
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsholy sepulchredavid streetjaffa gatetemple mountchurch bellsold citychristian quartergarden patioperfect locationsmall balconiestraveling solonice buildingthree nightshistoric siteswailing wallwestern walllounge area
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 231 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2008

My wife and I just returned from a 3 night stay here in the Old City. Overall we were very pleased with this hotel although we found it very difficult to find and transport luggage to initially. Taxis are not allowed in the old section so be aware that you must transport luggage down steps and cobble stone streets for some distance. Pack lightly! Directions were difficult due to the nature of the winding walkways and broken English spoken by some of the hotel staff. All that being said, once we got our bearings the location was really OK. It is ideally located if you want to stay in the Old City.
The hotel was clean with adequate but tight bedrooms. The bathroom had above average room with a walk in shower.
Positives of the hotel in addition to location are the very helpful staff, a good breakfast, as well as a delightful relaxing garden area that has a beautiful view of the Dome of the Rock at night.

Stayed: September 2008
1  Thank TNHoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

We (couple) stayed there for 6 nights in August 2008. The hostel is really in the old city, i.e. you have to go through the souks to go there and you hear the sounds of the different church bells and mosques and smell the different aromas.
We got a freshly renovated room with a twin bed.The interior was new, simple and convenient. There was no air condition,i.e. we had to sleep with windows opened and although we had 27 C in the room at night.
There was no TV in the room, the TV in the coffee /meeting room didn't work. There was no daily newspaper in the house. That's a negative point for me because I like to be informed about the world news /politics travelling in Israel.
Breakfast was good, typically Israelian.
There's a roof top terrace from where you can enjoy wonderful views about Jerusalem.
They sell some mineral waters and alcohol at reasonable prices.
Staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kroeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

I loved this place even before the remodel. The location is right smack in the center of the old city. I leave the windows open at night to listen to the incredible, unique sounds - Muslim calls to prayer, Christian church bells, and Jewish songs emanating from Torah schools. The updated rooms and bathrooms now make this THE place to stay in the old city, unless you have a car, since there's no place to put it here. If you want to stay in the old city and have a car, stay at Christ Church Guest House just inside the Jaffa Gate - they have free parking in a gated lot.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank TwoMillionMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2008

This guest house is in a wonderful location right in the the old city. You can spend hours walking around enjoying the different sights, sounds and smells of thousands of years of history. The staff were very helpful with checking in and information. The room was clean, bright and well lit, unusual in many modern hotels. Breakfast was buffet style and more than adequate to meet the day. The reading/TV room was a good place to spend some time, meet people and have a cup of coffee, or simply borrow a book to read. We spent four days there and it was a great base to have in Jersualem. I would certainly return as there is so much more to see and do.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ParisAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2007

Our stay here for a week and a half can be summed up in one word: Wow.

The hotel itself is small and quite simple. Rooms are very clean, comfortable and simple.

Very helpful staff. Nice, but not complex breakfast. Paying extra for wonderful evening meals was a must, and well worth it! Never tasted anything quite like these simple yet tasty local cuisines: Eggplant never tasted like that before! (And I mean that in a good way.)

What really makes this place so special is that it is in the perfect location if you want to spend time looking around at the Old City parts of Jerusalem: It is located at the heart of the Old City! With spectacular views from the roof at night...you will not find any better experience than the one here. Just make sure you arrive during the day, as some streets are closed off at night which can lead to confusion in getting to the hotel.

Again...wow. It was truly an experience of a lifetime!!

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank familytravelsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews