We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pro and cons”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lutheran Guest House
Ranked #10 of 61 Jerusalem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2008

We (couple) stayed there for 6 nights in August 2008. The hostel is really in the old city, i.e. you have to go through the souks to go there and you hear the sounds of the different church bells and mosques and smell the different aromas.
We got a freshly renovated room with a twin bed.The interior was new, simple and convenient. There was no air condition,i.e. we had to sleep with windows opened and although we had 27 C in the room at night.
There was no TV in the room, the TV in the coffee /meeting room didn't work. There was no daily newspaper in the house. That's a negative point for me because I like to be informed about the world news /politics travelling in Israel.
Breakfast was good, typically Israelian.
There's a roof top terrace from where you can enjoy wonderful views about Jerusalem.
They sell some mineral waters and alcohol at reasonable prices.
Staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kroeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 225 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2008

I loved this place even before the remodel. The location is right smack in the center of the old city. I leave the windows open at night to listen to the incredible, unique sounds - Muslim calls to prayer, Christian church bells, and Jewish songs emanating from Torah schools. The updated rooms and bathrooms now make this THE place to stay in the old city, unless you have a car, since there's no place to put it here. If you want to stay in the old city and have a car, stay at Christ Church Guest House just inside the Jaffa Gate - they have free parking in a gated lot.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TwoMillionMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2008

This guest house is in a wonderful location right in the the old city. You can spend hours walking around enjoying the different sights, sounds and smells of thousands of years of history. The staff were very helpful with checking in and information. The room was clean, bright and well lit, unusual in many modern hotels. Breakfast was buffet style and more than adequate to meet the day. The reading/TV room was a good place to spend some time, meet people and have a cup of coffee, or simply borrow a book to read. We spent four days there and it was a great base to have in Jersualem. I would certainly return as there is so much more to see and do.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ParisAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2007

Our stay here for a week and a half can be summed up in one word: Wow.

The hotel itself is small and quite simple. Rooms are very clean, comfortable and simple.

Very helpful staff. Nice, but not complex breakfast. Paying extra for wonderful evening meals was a must, and well worth it! Never tasted anything quite like these simple yet tasty local cuisines: Eggplant never tasted like that before! (And I mean that in a good way.)

What really makes this place so special is that it is in the perfect location if you want to spend time looking around at the Old City parts of Jerusalem: It is located at the heart of the Old City! With spectacular views from the roof at night...you will not find any better experience than the one here. Just make sure you arrive during the day, as some streets are closed off at night which can lead to confusion in getting to the hotel.

Again...wow. It was truly an experience of a lifetime!!

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank familytravelsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2007

Stayed at the hotel in October 2006 for about 3 days. I wanted a place in the Old City, as it seemed to be where the action is, and well known abroad. There are not a lot of hotels in the Old city, but I found this one run by Lutherans. I liked the reviews and booked it.
Costs was about $50-55 US, per day. The hotel is near the Jaffa Gate, as you enter it, bear to your right, you'll go down a long meandering street . I suggest you bring a map showing the hotel with you. I had a local help me find it, and had a map with me, just for ease. The local asked for large tip on arrival at hotel. At night some part of the street is dark, but the entire old city is darkish, and a bit grimy. You buzz the hotel door, and they let you in, a camera sees you. The hotel is clean and neat, light stone emphasized. Check in was easy, and business like, staff helpful. I had a room (single) down a long hall way, the room was extremely clean, sheets, bathroom, everything. The bed was a narrow single. No TV, or radio. Sometimes you can get board in it. You can hear the muslim call to prayer frequently at the back rooms in the hote.
The food served upstairs from the lobby is nice and adequte. They serve european style food, buffet syle, in a pleasant dining area. Overall the hotel is okay, nothing I really like about it except that is was clean, and in the Old City. Next time I think I would try to stay at a place with more hominess, and less pristine spartan environment. A tv also.

Stayed: October 2006
6  Thank mack20007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2007

Big and clean rooms with central heating and air conditioning, very nice lounge with free tea/coffee, good breakfast, helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fafiki2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thaumasios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#39 of 100 in Jerusalem
650 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#12 of 100 in Jerusalem
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#53 of 100 in Jerusalem
321 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#40 of 100 in Jerusalem
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lutheran Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lutheran Guest House

Address: 7 Saint Mark | P.O. Box 14051, Jerusalem 9761163, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Jerusalem
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Lutheran Guest House Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing