We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You feel at home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Notre Dame Guest House
Ranked #19 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Guadalajara, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You feel at home”
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We had a great time during our family's 5-day stay at Notre Dame. I would compare the facilities to a five-star hotel even tough its main purpose is to serve as a resting place for pilgrims.
You may miss a TV in the room, but again, why watch TV while in Jerusalem?
The staff is very friendly and the buffet restaurant services quite good, I would help to have more variety in the menu but the quality was very good.
The location is excellent, just steps away from the "new gate" in the Old City Wall, and walking distance from the city's landmarks and a nearby modern shopping mall.
The Rostiserie restaurant was superb.
If the purpose of your trip is to have an Spiritual experience in Jersualem, I can't think of a better place to stay, particularly since there is highly professional staff ready to help on setting up tour of the Holy places in Israel.
Diego Martinez, Mexico

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmartineza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    128
    31
    16
    13
See reviews for
82
87
34
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodland Hills, Ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

My two weeks at the guest house were fabulous. I stayed here 10 nights out of 14 in Israel and Egypt. The rooms are simple but very clean. The staff was wonderfully friendly and gave wonderful directions when asked. I had dinner a number of nights at the coffee shop (cafe) and sat outdoors on their nice patio. The Palestinian beer is great!!

Free internet wireless in the lobby and there were quiet places to log on and to use skype. They have a currency exchange machine that charged $5 for a transaction and the desk would also change money from time to time at no charge.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thevery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

I stay at Notre Dame Center on the 2008 and 2009 and I'm impressed of the work that they are doing they have newly renewd rooms that just look like a fancy boutique hotel, they told me that not all the rooms where renovated.

They have a great restaurant la Rotisserie, the Buffet Menu is amazing and they have one of the best buffets breakfast in the town.

The workers are very friendly, they have wi-fi, no TV but who need's it in Jerusalem, the Location is awesome.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLeuchter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

My family and I stayed at the Notre Dame Center for a few nights prior to joining a 2-week escorted tour of Israel. Having stayed at the NDC in 2005, I knew it would be the perfect place to overcome jet lag and explore of the Old City since the NDC is virtually across the street from the New Gate. We all had a wonderful time. The rooms were spacious, well-appointed and extremely clean. Catholics can take advantage of daily Mass in the NDC Chapel. And who can complain about no TV when the view out the window is the Dome of the Rock? Plus, the food...just great. The expansive breakfast buffet included eggs, bacon, ham, sausage, pancakes, waffles, French toast, oatmeal, cold cereals, breads, bagels, croissants, yogurt, juices, coffee, and tea. The highlight of our dining experiences at the NDC was La Rotisserie Grill. I concur with BuncloudySenator's comments. Chef Rodrigo's cooking is truly extraordinary. This was simply one of the best dining experiences of my life. Even the drinks were perfect. I ordered a dirty vodka martini. In many if not most restaurants in Israel, that order would produce a blank stare, but at La Rotisserie what I got was just delicious. The NDC is the place to be while visiting Jerusalem.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gloria05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stellenbosch
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2010

What a wonderful experience. The most awesome week of our trip to the middle east. Arrived Palm Sunday, experienced Passover, walked and walked Jerusalem and met with Father Kelly who took us on a tour of the Shroud of Turin displayed in the museum which forms part of the pontifical institution. Was a great way for our children - 9 and 10 years old to experience all Jerusalem can offer. it was easy to access from the drop off point of the serveece taxi which delivered us from the King Hussein Bridge cross over from Jordan. it is clean but very basic. It is expensive but worth all the extra benefits of being so close to the old City, great views from the roof, a room with bathroom between us and the kids, friendly helpful staff, fantastic breakfast. Nothing but the basics in the room. We managed to read the Bible available in the room to read to the kids to help tell the stories, so did not need a TV and made the most of a great family holiday. We were so tired everyday from walking and walking and walking we fell over and slept.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveloaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
228 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

I have eaten 5 times in the last 3 weeks in the Rotisserie Grill at the Notre Dame, and each time I'm more impressed with Chef Rodrigo Gonsales Elias' cooking! I'm not sure how to spell his name, but I am sure about one thing: The Finest non-Kosher food in Jerusalem!
Everything is delicious and so beautifully presented. The gazpacho is superbly flavoured and so beautiful; The chef salad with a few slices of pan fried and lightly caramelised foie gras, is sublime; oh, I meant to save that word for the Dutch chocolate souffle (not really a souffle - more a small personal chocolate cake with a molten interior - but so so delicious! really sublime...); the sea bream is wonderful. I and all my guests (between 3 and 5 at each dinner) were agreed that no other restaurant in Jerusalem could beat the food for quality. A pity they are not allowed to advertise. But I can spread the word for them. I was so impressed, that last night (21.Mar.), I brought Chef Elias a gift, a 2000 yr.old pottery cooking pot with a stand and certificate of antiquity, to thank him for blessing Jerusalem with such wonderful food.
Incidentally, I did not stay in the hotel personally; a friend from Toronto, a Jesuit priest on pilgrimage, gave me the hotel ratings. But I toured the hotel, and agree wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BunclodySenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

Travelling to Jerusalem for the first time we could not fault Notre Dame for their assistance prior to our arrival and its proximity to the Old City is fantastic. It was also wonderful being in a place with pilgrims from all over the world who were in Jerusalem for Christmas. However staying there for several days was challenging as the rooms are very basic. The beds were extremely uncomfortable (the kids fold up bed was far better) and there are no facilities in the room at all. We didnt mind the lack of TV as the kids were tired from walking around the Old City every day but not having a kettle or any other creature comforts in the room meant you always had to go out. The coffee shop and dining room at Notre Dame were OK and the buffet breakfast was very good. I would not recommend Notre Dame to people with small children like us or teenagers if you want things to do in the rooms but it would be fantastic if you are travelling in a group or if you dont mind sacrificing facilities for atmosphere and a great location.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AussieroversAmman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#51 of 99 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
The Sephardic House
#49 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Eldan Hotel
#25 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
David Citadel Hotel
#11 of 99 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Notre Dame Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Notre Dame Guest House

Property: Notre Dame Guest House
Address: 3 Paratroopers Rd, Jerusalem 91204, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Notre Dame Center - Guest House is centrally located, opposite the New Gate of the Old City walls and The Municipality from the other side; within walking distance to the most important holy sites (Holy Sepulchre, Wailling Wall and The Dome of the Rock), as well as to the new city with its shopping center and restaurants. Notre Dame itself apart the Main Dining Room offers other three restaurants and free parking for the guests.Business corner and Wi-Fi connection is availabe for a charge, as well as a professional conference facilities and an Auditorium for a big events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Notre Dame Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Notre Dame Guest House Hotel Jerusalem
Notre Dame Hotel
Notre Dame Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing