We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Americans or Europeans a taste of home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Notre Dame Guest House
Ranked #16 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“For Americans or Europeans a taste of home”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

This complex of guesthouse church and restaurants is an excellent way of retreating to the familiar before once again heading out to the streets of Jerusalem and the old city. The US dollar is the main currency at this place and they have an excellent and fairly priced gift shop.
The food is also fairly priced and is good but not outstanding in any way. I have eaten there many times and the service is always slow and actually kind of casual with little effort being made to be friendly.
I feel a little guilty whenever I eat here as it is run by the fundamentalist Catholic group The Legionaries of Christ and I don't feel too comfortable helping to fund their mission but it's just such a lovely haven just outside the Old City walls!!
I would recommend trying this place out; the view from the roof is great and it's clean, modern and safe.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnchaCorcaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    132
    33
    17
    13
See reviews for
91
95
39
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Had a great four night stay during our visit to Jerusalem and surrounding areas. Fantastic location, essentially across the street from New Gate which leads to the Christian quarter of the Old City. The hotel was also kind enough to arrange a vehicle to take us to the Bethlehem and some of the other Christian sites in the Palestine sections. Do not miss the rooftop bar, an inspiring place to catch a drink and enjoy the city lights and sites. Our room had a balcony which was also a pleasant place to relax at the end of each day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newportfiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Had a very relaxing one week stay at Notre Dame. Booked a twin room and was a bit concerned room would be a bit small and claustrophobic based on some other revues but I had no reason to worry. The room was a good size with a double bed, high ceilings and opening windows with insect screens with a view out to the impressive front of the property. Good breakfast served, light meals from the cafe at ground level and amazing sunset views over the old city from the rooftop wine and cheese restaurant.
Notre Dame is literally across the road from the new gate to the Old City and 5 mins walk to the Damascus Gate. Most guests are part of organised pilgrimage tours, so are out all day leaving the hotel very quiet and relaxing during the day. Would definitely stay there again if I return to Jerusalem.
Easy and cheap accessfrom Airport using Nesher shared taxi but remember to book more than 48 hours n advance if return trip on a weekend (eveything closes for 24 hours for Fri Shabat) and regular taxi costs $100 US
I also participated in several Green Olive day tours around Jerusalem, West Bank and to the Bedouin villages in Negev, and would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to get some insight into the local situation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdoc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Heights, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Great location, wonderful, caring staff, clean, quiet rooms and good food. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Notre Dame Guest House. Anyone thinking of traveling to Jerusalem should be aware of this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yana3022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We shared our lunch with fellow Holy Land Pilgrims for lunch.

Nice experience, everyone commented on the food being good. Nice to experience European food, at least once, in our week to the Middle East. Our group enjoyed a genuine Italian Margherita pizza, Hamburgers, fries and salad or Greek Salad each around $10 each, very nice, although it was a bit confusing for the waiting staff, with 30 plus in our group. We were seated in a long galley type restaurant at the front of the building. Lovely reception area of the hotel, and would like to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magenta4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The buildings are beautiful. I stayed at this guest house during the last half of a group pilgrimage to the Holy Land. As our stay was part of a tour price, I am not sure how much the rate was. I found the chapel a quiet place to pray. The rooms were simple and clean. The beds were comfortable. Yes, the hotel is situated near Old Jerusalem and in the city so there is noise, but with the restaurant upstairs (there was a graduation party one of the nights we were there) and city noise. There were some couples in our group that had rooms facing the New Gate and they were greeted by the sounds of the train through out the night. Don't forget your ear plugs. Other reviewers seemed to have problems with the staff, but I didn't encounter any rude staff. All the staff members I encountered were luckily helpful and friendly. The food I had at the dining room was good and there was a good selection each meal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NevadaSoulTrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Notre Dame Guest House is a Vatican owned guest house just steps away from the New Gate into the old city of Jerusalem. It has a very fine dining room with an excellent array of foods, deliciously prepared for your enjoyment. There is also an outdoor/indoor Wine Bar and Restaurant on the 4th floor rooftop which overlooks the old city of Jerusalem, prominently displaying are the Church of the Holy Sepulcher and the Temple Mount with the Dome of the Rock.
Notre Dame also has a replica of the Shroud of Turin and an expert who conducts guided tours at no charge other than a free-will offering.
This hotel is a real treat for the believer.

Room Tip: Great Location, Great Services, Great Food, A religious experience booster!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,465 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#11 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,005 reviews
David Citadel Hotel
#12 of 99 in Jerusalem
1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Notre Dame Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Notre Dame Guest House

Property: Notre Dame Guest House
Address: 3 Paratroopers Rd, Jerusalem 91204, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located and opposite the New Gate of the Old City of Jerusalem and City Hall, guests are located a short walk away from the most important holy sites (Holy Sepulcher, Western Wall, and Dome of the Rock), as well as the attractions, shops and restaurants of the new city! Notre Dame offers three restaurants, a buffet, a cafeteria, and its famous rooftop restaurant offering breathtaking views and delicious dishes for lunch and dinner. Notre Dame also has a 500-seat conference center and auditorium as well as various meeting rooms and banqueting facilities to host your events. Free Wi-Fi is offered throughout the hotel and a business center is available for guests. Parking is also free for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Notre Dame Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Notre Dame Guest House Hotel Jerusalem
Notre Dame Hotel
Notre Dame Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing