We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unmissable -” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Notre Dame Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Notre Dame Guest House
Ranked #29 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unmissable -”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is the perfect place to stay - excellent location, rooms are very clean, with exceedingly comfortable beds which isn't always the case in Israel. Roof bar has a wonderful view over the city and serves excellent Israeli red wine! Easy to access the souk and walk anywhere and the food is really good. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: If you can get a room overlooking the Dome of the Rock, that would be first choice; overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scribblingaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    108
    29
    12
    11
See reviews for
59
72
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a gem... in a great location, with a great staff, with a great building and an absolute find for any traveller to the Holy Land. These folks have hit paydirt on this hotel. The view from the roof top wine & cheese bar is not to be missed. The rooms are super clean, very nicely appointed and very quiet. I am devoted fan and will stay again the next time I am there!

Room Tip: Top floor facing the Old City Jerusalem - lower floors noisy and no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Hotel location is fantastic, close to the Old City and to many other places in the city.
Rooms are good and the whole place is very clean. The staff is very helpful and polite.
The roof bar is really nice with great views and good service.

We got special treatment from Jamal head of the reservation because my husband had a birthday.

Overall I highly recommend the hotel, staff, atmosphere and the location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphna29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The things to note about this hotel are that the location is fantastic and that there are a lot of people in pilgrimage type tour parties. The hotel is situated just opposite the New gate in the Jerusalem city walls and you can walk anywhere in the old city from the hotel. It is also close to good restaurants and bars just of Jaffa Road and is near to tram and bus stops for getting to places of interest such as Yad Vashem and the Israel Museum.

The rooms are good and the whole place is very clean. The staff are fine but lack knowledge of local transport and are not quite as attentive as in Israeli ran places we stayed in during our trip to Israel. The roof top bar and restaurant is a really good experience with good service and fantastic views and has a sophisticated feel to it.

Something to be aware of is that breakfasts are between 6.00am and 9.00am so no staying in bed. At 8.00am we were almost alone at breakfast as the tour parties were up and away earlier.

I would definitely stay here again but I do think that they should provide free WiFi - everywhere else in Israel does and given the staff's lack of knowledge on transport and less well known things of interest it would have enabled us to research them ourselves.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZVMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, IA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Hotel location is excellent - right beside the Old City, and walking distance to Ben Yehuda Street. Rooms are average size. Service was very good - I thought that the staff was attentive to our needs. On our first day there, the shower head broke off, and they quickly sent someone to repair it. Food in the restaurant was very good. There is a chapel inside the hotel, as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_Martin516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I know ND well. I used to take groups there often. I went back recently for a visit (not to stay). It used to be a Christian Guest house with class that helped the local Palestinian Christians. Now it has turned into another typical hotel. They have replaced many of the Palestinians with their own Spanish friends. Other issues include: raised the prices considerably; do a lot of fund raising for their own projects (a new location in Galilee for one); put some of their own people at your tables & on your buses; opened a gift shop that takes business away from the local Palestinian merchants (no need for this); charge excessively for cashing Travelers' Cheques; opened a new restaurant with higher prices on the roof that basically put their other one out of business, etc. I will not take another group there again, I'm sorry to say.

It is a beautiful building with a great history, but tries to be something it is not and change a great tradition.

I feel bad as this used to be a great place to help support the presence of the Church in the Holy Land and have a pleasant stay

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
8 Thank FrequentPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We went to this hotel by mistake... actualy this is not a hotel not eve a guest house it is a simple hostel in a very noise and dirty area , the staff are duing their best -- but you can not call it a hotel...

Room Tip: This is not a hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stiev a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#51 of 98 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#6 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 stars 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#13 of 98 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 stars 1,190 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Notre Dame Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Notre Dame Guest House

Property: Notre Dame Guest House
Address: 3 Paratroopers Rd, Jerusalem 91204, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Notre Dame Center - Guest House is centrally located, opposite the New Gate of the Old City walls and The Municipality from the other side; within walking distance to the most important holy sites (Holy Sepulchre, Wailling Wall and The Dome of the Rock), as well as to the new city with its shopping center and restaurants. Notre Dame itself apart the Main Dining Room offers other three restaurants and free parking for the guests.Business corner and Wi-Fi connection is availabe for a charge, as well as a professional conference facilities and an Auditorium for a big events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Notre Dame Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Notre Dame Guest House Hotel Jerusalem
Notre Dame Hotel
Notre Dame Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing