We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a hotel - it is a hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Notre Dame Guest House
Ranked #17 of 102 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We went to this hotel by mistake... actualy this is not a hotel not eve a guest house it is a simple hostel in a very noise and dirty area , the staff are duing their best -- but you can not call it a hotel...

Room Tip: This is not a hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stiev a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 514 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed at this center for 3 nights and loved it. The rooms are quiet, clean and comfortable and the bathroom was very clean and everything worked (including a blow dryer that actually dried hair). The chapel is wonderful - daily Mass, adoration, confessions are available too.

I ate at the restaurant many times and found the food was delicious. I love middle Eastern food and I know good from bad - everything here is beyond good. The restaurant staff is helpful, happy and fun.

No tv or wifi? a bonus for me. I needed to rest and remove myself from the world, so it was perfect. Did not miss the tv once.

finally, as noted before - the location is hard to beat. Highly recommended retreat.

1  Thank Momof51962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel is within easy walking distance of the , Church of the Holy Sepulchre and the Christian and Armenian quarters of the old city. It is clean, comfortable and the service is charming. Part of the organisation's mission is to provide dignified work and training opportunities for the local Palestinian population and these young people are extremely kind and helpful. As a centre for pilgrimage, there is no television in the rooms but you can always keep up with the news by reading the English language papers in the lobby. The rooftop restaurant has a wonderful view over the city and the food is well prepared and good value.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpm_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Whoa! This is truly an impressive entrance. The accommodations are updated and very modernly furnished with very high ceilings. The one thing I miss is a television to see the world news. But I do have my iPhone so that's ok. There are 3 restaurants in this place. The large one is included in the meal plan (with our tour anyway). But there is a cafe on the opposite side that has incredible tasty dishes at very reasonable price.

Up on the top floor is a wine bar where you can also dine with access to open lounges like living rooms out in the open with gorgeous views of the city and the front of the majestic looking castle-like hotel. The price here too is very reasonable considering the fact that I could have a good size seared foie gras for about $15.

This is literally located across from one of the gates to Old Jerusalem and walking distance to the new Mamilla Mall (about 1-1/2 blocks) which is open till 11PM on Saturdays. The new electric train also stops by this hotel.

Great location and an honest staff.

Room Tip: Try to face front so you get a better view. Also if you can get one with a balcony, that's a tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodyholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The hotel is directly across the road from the New Gate of the Old City. From our bedroom window we could see the Dome of the Rock, the (top of) the Wailing Wall, the Church of the Holy Sepulchre and, in the distance, the Mt of Olives. Every spare moment that we were not touring in Israel or Palestine, we would head across the road to explore the Old City. The very modern light rail service runs past the hotel up Jaffa Rd into the (new) city centre, for shops and bus station etc.

The hotel is excellent. When we first arrived in our room, we noted that there was no safe (an inconvenience rather than a crisis). As soon as we mentiioned it to the front desk, they arranged for us to move to a room with a safe. Such responsiveness was typical of the staff. Everyone from the Director to the cleaners were pleasant and helpful. We will stay there again.

Strangely all prices at the hotel, including the bars and gift shops etc, are in US$s. A staff member explained that some Americans get confused if prices are not in US$s. Strange but true.

Peter McA - Canberra Australia

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Old City. The higher the better. The view is spectacular. The roofto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CollettePeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I've been in this hotel with my husband right after Xmas this year. I definitely suggest it!! rooms are tiny but very clean and cozy, people are really nice and breakfast in the morning is delicious.. Furthermore the hotel is located just outside the Old City Walls so you can easily walk to get there in a very safe street. do not miss the cheese&wine rooftop bar (pricy but it's worth it!!) from where you can enjoy one of the most beautiful views of the city!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheva82_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I hardly can imagine a better location for visiting Jerusalem.
This is not a luxury hotel, but nothing is missing. The location is excellent. You just cross the road and you're in the heart of the Old City.
The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is good.
You can try the restaurant on the roof, with the view of the City of Jerusalem or the good bar at the Ground Floor.
Last but not least, if you want to pray, you have an internal wonderful Chapel!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Riccardo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#15 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,538 reviews
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#11 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,053 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Waldorf Astoria Jerusalem
#7 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,189 reviews
David Citadel Hotel
#10 of 102 in Jerusalem
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Notre Dame Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Notre Dame Guest House

Address: 3 Paratroopers Rd, Jerusalem 91204, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: $223 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located and opposite the New Gate of the Old City of Jerusalem and City Hall, guests are located a short walk away from the most important holy sites (Holy Sepulcher, Western Wall, and Dome of the Rock), as well as the attractions, shops and restaurants of the new city! Notre Dame offers three restaurants, a buffet, a cafeteria, and its famous rooftop restaurant offering breathtaking views and delicious dishes for lunch and dinner. Notre Dame also has a 500-seat conference center and auditorium as well as various meeting rooms and banqueting facilities to host your events. Free Wi-Fi is offered throughout the hotel and a business center is available for guests. Parking is also free for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Notre Dame Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Notre Dame Guest House Hotel Jerusalem
Notre Dame Hotel
Notre Dame Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing